Royal York Hotel, Toronto


If you’ve ever been to Toronto you’ve probably heard of the Royal York Hotel. It’s been around like forever. It was built back when the Dead Sea had a cough. Anyway, very hoity toity and prices accordingly. It’s not the easiest building to photograph, because of traffic and power lines and so on, so I chose to shoot one small part of it. And, here it is! I’ve got so many damn photos to edit and post that I actually couldn’t decide what to post next. I’m trying to mix them up so as not to post a handful of sky scrapers in a row and so on. Anyway, enough of my bitching — hope you like it.

This entry was posted in Downtown Toronto, Winter Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Royal York Hotel, Toronto

  1. Mauro Metallo says:

    Very nice Dave, Well done!
    It looks exactly like a commercial ad and exquisitely conveys the luxury of one of the most famous hotels in Toronto.
    Brav, Bravo, Bravo!

  2. milkayphoto says:

    Lovely lighting in this shot, Dave. Totally agree with Mauro – very luxurious-looking. There is also some sort of spooky ghost image in the upper right window. Well, not really spooky since to me, it sort of looks like a giant cow nose!

    • davecandoit says:

      You have got such a keen eye for detail, Tracy. I never noticed that. Glad you like it (the photo, not the peeking cow).
      A quick off-topic question: Do you ever find lugging around your D300 to be a chore, or is it something you just get used to? I’m buying a new camera in the next month or so and while a DSLR seems like the natural choice, I worry that it won’t get out as much because of the size and such. I’ve looked at a D90, but it’s a big, heavy camera, and I imagine the D300 is ever bigger still, right? Any thoughts on it would be appreciated. Thanks.

  3. milkayphoto says:

    I don’t mind the D300 at all but that is because I USED to lug around a D2X which is much larger and heavier. Sooooo, going to the D300 was an improvement! I actually travel around with my camera (sometimes two as I actually own a back-up D300 body), a tripod, my speedlight w/lightsphere, remote cable release and several lenses and teleconvertors when I’m out for some serious shooting. I can pack most of it into one easy-to-carry bag, with the camera slung over my shoulder. For me, I prefer a large camera and find I have much better form when I use one. We have a couple of P&S cameras and for me, they feel like toys. 🙂 I guess I just like the big guns! (Plus it makes me look a professional-like. 🙂 ) Can’t comment on the D90 as I don’t know how it compares size-wise. Does any of this help?

Comments are closed.