Lonely Yoga


This photo is from one of my shoots for the magazine. Not sure if it’ll get used, but I like it. I’d asked to shoot the studio while it was empty, then asked this lovely young lady if she’d mind posing for me to give some perspective to the space. Hope you like it.

Looks like rain today. Damn. I really want to head down to the big G20 protest today to photograph those no-nuthin’ jackasses trying to make a point by throwing rocks at cops. I still might go. Wish me luck.

This entry was posted in Canon EOS T2i / 550D, Toronto Beaches and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lonely Yoga

  1. Mauro Metallo says:

    Lovely project, Dave. And the picture perfectely captures the mood. Bravo!
    As for photographing the G20 protesters, rain or not rain, I wouldn’t even bother… I’m an amateur and going there means to take the same risks as the pros of being beaten or getting arrested, but without their paycheck!

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks Mauro, you make a good point about the G20 protesters. I’m definitely not interested in going in this rain. I would, however, love to get some shots of these arseholes in their balaclavas and such. After all, the G20 only comes around every few years. Maybe tomorrow will be a nicer day.

  2. milkayphoto says:

    I do like the perspective BUT I think I would have liked to see the windows completely white (so, overexposed) to really capture that zen feeling. If you had used spot metering on the woman, you might have achieved that. (Or, you could have simply plussed the EV). JMHO. 🙂

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks Tracy. If I’d been doing this just for my own artistic purposes, I might have considered it, but since it’s for a community magazine I figured the more stuff visible the better.

      • milkayphoto says:

        All that would be blown out are the windows – inside stuff still visible (which I assume is all the studio would be concerned about?). What I was getting at is sometimes (and I have to be reminded of this all the time), less is more. The signage and clutter outside the windows is contradictary to the serenity saught inside. But, I suppose some might find that chaos versus peace intriguing…so, hmmmm….something to think about.

      • milkayphoto says:

        Me again. 😉

        I’ve thought about it more and what I come to realize is that what doesn’t work for me in this photo IS the stuff outside the window. The photo is about the yoga studio, right? But what I find happening, is my eye is immediately drawn to the signage outside and doesn’t stay inside the studio. So, for the intended purpose of this image, that is bad. Again, JMHO. 🙂

  3. davecandoit says:

    Okay, I’ll go back and retake the shot… 🙂
    Just kidding. I honestly do see your point. I’m going to try my darnedest not to lose too much sleep over it. 🙂
    Thanks again Tracy.

Comments are closed.