Snip Snip…


Gotta tell ya, a week ago I would have been just too damn shy to waltz into a busy barber shop in the middle of the day and ask to snap a photo of everyone. I’ve been pining a photo of this neighbourhood barber shop for the past year but never had the courage to just go in and ask. But today that’s just what I did. I had a really successful morning of shooting people and storefronts for Local magazine and thought, what the hell. They all got a kick out of it and happily posed. I actually had to ask them not to pose so I could get one of the barber just working away. In the end, I like the posed shot best. And since this barber shop has been here for decades I thought it only fitting to do a black & white treatment.

I think after all these years I’ve finally figured out what I want to do with my life. This past week has been very hectic but one of the most enjoyable in years. I’ll post more photos from my various shoots in the coming days and weeks.

This entry was posted in Black & White Photography, Canon EOS T2i / 550D, Toronto Beaches and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Snip Snip…

  1. milkayphoto says:

    Bravo, Dave! You sound so excited and I’m excited for you! You are very talented and I hope this new adventure takes you far! 🙂

    These guys are such hams! 🙂

    • davecandoit says:

      Thank you, Tracy. I am indeed very excited. And yes, these guys were hamming it up good. I was surprised at how willing they were to work with me. I’m not used to such welcoming strangers. Toronto has a reputation of being a very cold city, but not today, not inside this barber shop.

  2. lynnwiles says:

    I am also very happy for you. Back when I was a young photographer, I occasionally had the nerve to ask people if I could photograph them, but then I decided that I don’t like taking people pictures and that solved the shy problem.

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks Lynn. I really need to learn to photograph people so I have no choice but to find ways to do it. Volunteering for the magazine is giving me lots of opportunities.

  3. aswirly says:

    They look so happy to pose for you, and the shot and expressions are great. Nice work, and congrats! 🙂

Comments are closed.