Royal York Lion


Two of these lions rest at each side of the driveway to the Royal York Hotel in downtown Toronto. I shot it with the aperture wide open to get a narrow depth of field, which is why the lion is in sharp focus while the background is a bit blurred. I focused on the eye, which is always a good idea when shooting people or animals.

This entry was posted in Canon EOS T2i / 550D, Downtown Toronto and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Royal York Lion

  1. milkayphoto says:

    LOVE the perspective and the lighting. I would have moved slightly over to either not have that ugly building light in the shot (messes up the lines) OR such that the lion’s head blocked it from view. These are the kinds of details that make or break a photo.

    • davecandoit says:

      I see what you mean. Plus, the way it is the lion’s head is centred at the bottom of the frame, which isn’t my ideal spot for it. Thanks Tracy.

  2. Emily Rose says:

    I really like this 🙂 I see the lion first and then the building pulls my eye upward through the frame. Very cool!

  3. Clara says:

    I really like this photo!

Comments are closed.