Skywatch Friday from the Main St. Bridge


Boy lately the skies have been terrific here in Toronto. I’ve managed to garner plenty of photos for Skywatch Friday. This one was taken in east Toronto on the Main St. bridge, facing west towards downtown. You can see the CN Tower and Toronto skyline in the distance. Hope you like it.

This entry was posted in Canon EOS T2i / 550D, Downtown Toronto, Skywatch Friday, Toronto Beaches and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Skywatch Friday from the Main St. Bridge

  1. Leena says:

    What a great view!! I am wondering, what kind of camera do you have?
    I wish you blue, sunny sky also for this weekend!

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks Leena. You’re right about my camera. It’s the new Canon T2i/550D. I’m shooting with a Tameron 17-50mm F2.8 lens and a Canon 55mm-250mm F4-5.6 telephoto lens. Have a nice weekend and thanks for popping by my blog.

  2. Leena says:

    Now I found your camera, but I have to be “googling” and find out, what does T2i mean!
    My camera is Canon Eos 500D

  3. Al says:

    I love the sky with just those wisps of cloud. Great shot!

  4. Great view in depth and width. I take it you are not talking
    about the Canon digital camera? I use the G70 – not knowing very
    much about any other. But always looking for a change!

  5. Absolutely smashing — and it looks like no pollution in your big city ??

    • davecandoit says:

      Oh we’ve got pollution alright. A major part of our Mayor’s — Mayor David Miller — legacy is the fact that Toronto is now the #1 most traffic congested city in North America. More than NYC. More than L.A. More than Chicago. Yep, it’s a fact. This is due to his “War On Cars” policy that has seen gridlock like never before. This and astronomical taxation and waste at city hall will be what he is remembered for for generations to come.

      To give you an example of the utter waste going on at City Hall under this Mayor, one of our city councillors, Kyle Raye, just wasted $12,000 of taxpayer money to host his own retirement luncheon. Did he hold it in a restaurant in his own ward? Nope, he held it at one of Toronto’s swankiest and most expensive restaurants. Apparently the restaurants in his own ward aren’t expensive enough for him — or I should say for us taxpayers to pay for. Meanwhile, everyone else in the city is still struggling to recover from this terrible recession.

      Sorry, I digress. It’s just that those not living here can’t possibly imagine the incredible waste and incompetence going on at City Hall. These people should be arrested, frankly.

  6. uberrhund says:

    Wonderful view of the city of Toronto as seen from what must be many peoples daily commute. I feel for you about the pollution and the politics, here in Southern California we have much the same tale of woe. Disgrace thy name is politician!

  7. Arija says:

    Nice wide angle view invoking the breadth of Canadian scenery. It certainly helps to be higher up.

  8. Tracy says:

    Wonderful photo! Can you teach me to be lazy like you? 🙂 Have a super weekend!

  9. Artswebshow says:

    wow. this is an excellent composition

  10. I agree that the skies HAVE been great lately! I think it’s interesting that we both decided to photograph track. 🙂

  11. Judy says:

    I love those wispy clouds!!!

  12. Tanya says:

    Happy SWF! Wonderful capture. It seems as though I could walk the tracks all the way to downtown!

  13. Great S.W.F. photo :).
    If your interested check out my new photo challenge website http://www.weekdayphotos.com, its different…every day has its own theme with a different challenge every week, and the website design is unique! Check it out and hopefully ill see a photo from you soon 🙂
    btw this is my S.W.F. photo for this week…here.

    Have a great one!

  14. Wonderful capture with great depth – lucky you and your blue skies this week – I’m still waiting!

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks. We had a very gloomy day today with showers and cooler weather. Tomorrow’s supposed to be a tad better. I hear you had snow out there in Alberta not long ago. That’s a drag.

  15. Glennis says:

    A great expanse of sky and it is amazing. I like the feathery clouds.

  16. Jan Smith says:

    Cool shot. Great composition!

Comments are closed.