The Ex Boyfriend


I came across this knife holder in a shop window on Queen St. E. in the beaches and thought it would make a funny photo. A block or two over I stopped in The Beacher Cafe (my fav’ weekend brunch spot) and showed the photo to the bar tender, who I know well. She laughed and said, “Oh, that’s the ‘Ex Boyfriend.'” Yikes! Got me thinking. Imagine the uproar if anyone dared call it the ex girlfriend? Welcome to the world of double standards. 😉

This entry was posted in Canon EOS T2i / 550D, Toronto Beaches and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Ex Boyfriend

  1. Sean Kane says:

    This photo has my mind doing circles. The reflection, or at least I’m assuming it is a reflection, is only visible in the negative space. I can’t see any hint of it on the objects, nor a reflection of the objects on glass behind it. Very well composed. Great title too!

  2. milkayphoto says:

    Are the knives a part of the the sculpture or is this supposed to HOLD knives?? Confused! But hilarious item!

  3. Sure…Tracy thinks it’s hilarious. I cringed!

    Dave, was there a reason you didn’t get closer to the statue (besides a feeling of dread)?

    • davecandoit says:

      Not really. I had a storefront window between me and the sculpture, but I could have zoomed closer, or cropped, for that matter. I just sort of liked the reflection in the window of the starbucks across the street.

Comments are closed.