The Goof at Night


There’s a restaurant in my ‘hood called The Garden Gate. Everyone who lives in the beaches calls it The Goof, because the neon sign out front that spells Good Food had both “d”s and a couple of “o”s burned out, making it read The Goof. Anyway, I was bored tonight so I decided to get out and take some evening shots. I think I’m really getting to know my camera now. This shot is one of many that were hand held. Obviously I’ve dialled it up some. Hope you like it.

This entry was posted in Black & White Photography, Canon EOS T2i / 550D, Neighbourhood, Night Photography, Toronto Beaches and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Goof at Night

  1. Sean Kane says:

    I love night shots like this. The whole outside-looking-in thing. Especially into a well-lit place. It really makes you want to try and figure out what exactly is going on inside and leaves you wondering why the camera is out. I’m a fan of this shot.

  2. milkayphoto says:

    You do these so well, Dave. Classic in b/w. Slice of Canadacana…. 😉

  3. I agree with Sean. Night photos are amazing. I’m not a professional like the two of you, but I have to say I think Neon Signs were made for night shots. The condition of the sign in this photo is perfect for an artifact from 1952.

    Great shot.
    D.

  4. aswirly says:

    Well? Is the food good? Huh? I love being able to see the lit-up instide from outside. Looks good in monotone.

    • davecandoit says:

      It used to be a full on diner with a soda counter and everything. But their main menu is Chinese. Haven’t been in years so I don’t know what it’s like now.

Comments are closed.