Happy Mother’s Day


Hope everyone had a nice Mother’s Day. Typically, about this time on Mother’s Day I’d be stretched out on the couch at my Mom and Dad’s place after a nice dinner. My Mom would have placed my bouquet of flowers in her vase and we’d be getting ready to watch America’s Funniest Home Videos.

Not this year, though, or the past five.

She passed away in the summer of 2004, sadly. At least she went quietly in her sleep. But I still think of her every Mother’s Day — pretty much every day, for that matter. We were very close, me being an only child, so her passing hit home very hard. I miss her very much.

As for the above photo, I took that a while back during an outing with Mauro.

So if your mother is still with us, it’s not a bad idea to remember there will come a day when she will be gone. It doesn’t cost you anything to show her how much you love her and you won’t have any regrets when that day comes.

The couple in the black and white shot are my Mom and Dad, proud new working class parents living in the west end of Toronto. I’ll give you three guesses who is in that little baby carriage. 😉

This entry was posted in Canon EOS T2i / 550D, Downtown Toronto and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Happy Mother’s Day

  1. milkayphoto says:

    Damn you, Dave for making me all teary-eyed!

    Seriously, thanks for the reminder – we all need it sometimes. Fortunately, my mom is still here, but lives about 2 hours away so getting back home isn’t always easy. Jim lost his mom in 1998 and I know this day is still tough for him.

    Very poignant image. My mom isn’t quite this advanced age, but the woman reminds me of my grandmother (who isn’t still with us). There are many women that shape our lives and indeed, they aren’t often given their due credit.

    Please excuse me while I go phone my mom…. 🙂

  2. Jan Smith says:

    That’s a very sweet photo and a touching post. I understand about being the only child. I still have my mom, but I’m sure it’ll be hard when she’s gone. I pray that God will give you peace and comfort when you think of her.

  3. trishothinks says:

    Thanks for the post….it is sweet. Wish my mom was still alive too….so Mother’s Day is kind of sad for me.

Comments are closed.