’40s Noir Shot


So I entered the above photo into About.com’s Photography Contest last month and guess what, I came up as one of the finalists. This is the same contest I won in January and was runner up two other times. Yay me! 🙂 The shot was taken with my now retired point & shoot. There’s no money of course, and no invite to Magnum Photography, but that’s okay it’s all in good fun. Here’s the link if you want to check it out.

More good news: Your Awesomeness (that’s what I’ve nicknamed her — her real name is Lindsay) at Vistek Camera called today to tell me my baby was ready for pickup!!! That’s two weeks sooner than expected. Yay some more! Turns out she (the cameras, not Lindsay) had a bit of dust on the sensor, probably allergies, but nothing a little TLC couldn’t fix right up. Gonna grab her (the camera, not Lindsay) in the morning. Boy I can’t wait.

This entry was posted in Black & White Photography, Downtown Toronto, Panasonic Lz2 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to ’40s Noir Shot

  1. shutterboo says:

    This is a fantastic photo. The contrast is mesmerizing but I love the lines – the rails, the buildings… I love it.

  2. Geoff says:

    This is a wonderful monochrome image. Congratulations on your excellent work.

  3. That’s a great picture. The figure in the middle is in just about the right place and both the buildings and the tram lines are perfect.

  4. lynnwiles says:

    Fabulous photo – you do noir so well and I’m excited for you to be getting your camera back – make sure you don’t bring it while in the process of demolishing, for she might get hurt (the camera not Lindsay).

  5. NIce shot and kudos are in order.

  6. davecandoit says:

    Thanks Lynn and Bob. The demo’s almost finished so the dust has settled. Still won’t be changing lenses in the house, of course.

  7. milkayphoto says:

    Congrats, Dave! I remember this image…the leading lines, the buildings, the lone figure. Outstanding!

    Soooo, it WAS dust on the sensor, huh? You’d better get used to that if you are going to use your camera regularly. Not hard to clean at all. Will the camera store teach you?

  8. Not surprised…this photo has leading lines, depth of field to infinite and your added touch of adding a person to give scale and interest.

  9. Jan Smith says:

    Congratulations!!! I love this photo. Love the lines on the street!

  10. Emily Rose says:

    Yay for getting your camera back! Boo for dust! 😉

  11. aswirly says:

    Great photo! Congrats on the win and getting your baby back! Yay 🙂

Comments are closed.