The joys of digital photography


I noticed a couple of spots in a few of my photos. After thoroughly cleaning my lens and filter I snapped a photo of the blue sky to see if I could still see the dust spots. Upon further investigation it appears I have dust on my sensor. The real drag here is I’ve switched lenses like three times since I’ve owned the camera. 😦 Now I’m afraid to take my lens off at all.

The first shot is untouched and uncropped. In the second I cropped it and did some post processing to make the spots stand out. Don’t pay attention to the post processing, just look for the obvious dust dots. Not sure if I should have the sensor cleaned by the camera store or buy a kit and do it myself. Any suggestions?

This entry was posted in Canon EOS T2i / 550D, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The joys of digital photography

  1. milkayphoto says:

    Sooo, now you realize the cons when it comes to using a grown-up camera! 🙂

    You need to learn how to clean your camera! Since you have a Canon I can’t give you step-by-step instructions ‘cuz it is most likely different than cleaning my Nikon. You MIGHT simply have dust on either the focussing screen or the mirror and not the sensor (the mirror/focussing screen are what is exposed most when you change lenses). I clean my camera all the time since I change lenses all the time. Just comes with the territory. It isn’t hard to do once you learn how. Yes, get the proper cleaning swabs (I like Visible Dust 1.5x/1.6x swabs along with the Visible Dust Artic Butterfly) and a small flashlight. I also have the Visible Dust hurricane blower as well as sensor cleaning solution (and swabs) but I don’t (thankfully) have to use those that often. There are many instructional videos on Utube that can help. (In most, they seem to use a swab and a cleaner – I actually don’t use a liquid cleaner all that much since the dust is DRY and I simply need to get it off the mirror, focussing screen and/or sensor). Wish I could help more! I am sure an experienced Canon user will be able to do so! 🙂

  2. What Tracy said. Here’s a blog a wrote up about cleaning a digital sensor or more correctly the protective covering over the sensor.

    http://land.allears.net/blogs/photoblog/2008/06/in_progress_cleaning_a_dslr_se_1.html

    I have links to other websites at the end of that article which should help in finding specific information for Canons.

  3. davecandoit says:

    Thanks Tracy and Scott. Looks like it’s a bigger problem, which I’ll speak to in my next post.

  4. Geoff says:

    I use a large blower to give the sensor a clean occasionally. Also when you change lenses hold the camera with the lens opening facing down so that a minimal amount a dust will enter.

  5. lynnwiles says:

    Sorry to hear about your problem Dave, hope it gets fixed soon.

Comments are closed.