Oh Crap!


Well I took my camera down to vistek where a very helpful and lovely technician gave it a looksee. Much to my surprise the sensor was cleaner than a Bill Cosby joke. She says it has to be something beside the sensor causing this. Maybe the lens but since not all my shots have this issue she suspects it’s camera related. Never dawned on me at the time, but we should have tried my second lens on it to see if the results were the same, which would eliminate a lens related issue. Anyway, the camera is headed back to Canon under warranty. All I can do is hope they fix it without mucking up anything else. The worst part is it’ll be gone for three weeks. 😦

As for the shot above, this is the Canon Theatre on Yonge Street, across from the Eaton Centre here in Toronto. I snapped it at the end of an outing just before the rain came. I figured it would be apropos since we’re talking about my broken down Canon camera. Ironically, there are no spots visible on this shot. Hope you like it.

This entry was posted in Canon EOS T2i / 550D, Downtown Toronto, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Oh Crap!

  1. Hey Dave,

    Just came across your thread in thephotoforum and decided to go ahead and take a look at your blog. I looked through a few pages of photos and I think they’re great!

    I’m a beginner photographer myself and just recently started a blog. I’ll probably stop by every so often to look at your photos for inspirations. So I guessed I should probably introduce myself since I may start leaving comments. I hope your camera comes back to you spotlessly clean!

    danny

    • davecandoit says:

      Hi Danny,

      Nice of you to drop by and say hello. I checked out your blog, looks like you’re off and running. Totally love the panorama shots you posted. Nice work. For the life of me I couldn’t place your city but then I saw the Smurfit-Stone Building in your third panorama – a dead giveaway.

  2. milkayphoto says:

    Wow, that sucks man. But I really don’t believe it. Depending upon what focal length you are using on the lens, the spots may or may not be in all shots. But, there’s really no harm in having Canon take a looksee…I just hate that they (like Nikon) feel it’s nothing to keep a camera from a photog for weeks without so much as a ‘howdyado’…

    • davecandoit says:

      I don’t know what to think. The tech said its best to send it to Canon. We even sent along the lens. I guess we’ll see.

      • milkayphoto says:

        Apologies, Dave. Didn’t mean to sound so flip with my comments. I think you did the best thing…new camera so why not take advantage of the warranty? I think it is good that you sent the lens as well as it COULD be the lens too. I hope they send it back quickly!! 🙂

  3. davecandoit says:

    Oh please, no apologies necessary. Your thinking was right on the money and I didn’t consider if flippant at all — well, no more than usual, I should say. 🙂

    Just kidding. Thanks for your concern. The girl looking after me at Vistek is awesome, so I’m sure I’m in good hands. I forgot to remove my expensive memory card but she grabbed it for me and is holding onto it.

  4. See….should have gotten a Nikon. 😉 J/K

    Boy, those sure did look like sensor spots to me. Another thing they could have tried was the lens on another body. Oh, well, you’ll have your answer in a few weeks. Least you have your backup camera to keep on trucking!

    • davecandoit says:

      LOL… Thanks Scott. I think it would have made sense to try a couple of things first but I really wasn’t thinking quick on my feet. I never suspected in a million years I’d be leaving my camera behind. I could have tried the lens on my buddy’s Canon rebel first, to eliminate it as the source of the spots. Oh well, hindsight…

Comments are closed.