Big Building in Black & White


This is a fabulous modern building. I’ll be posting at least two more shots of it in the near future. This one seemed to want to be a black & white. It’s located on the east side of University Ave. just north of Dundas St. Mauro and I stopped there to visit a Leica store, where Mauro found out that they want a small fortune for a 24mm F2 prime lens, like $4,200. On our way back down to Dundas I snapped this shot. I really need to remember to check the shutter speed when shooting people, so as to freeze them in the shot. Ideally, I would have thrown the camera into shutter priority and set the shutter at 1/125th of a second or faster before taking the photo. It would have given me a larger aperture, for sure, but I could probably have still kept the depth of field wide enough so everything was in pretty good focus. The aperture was set at F16 with a shutter of 1/30th of a second. If I’d opened up the aperture to F5.6 (4 stops wider) I could have shot this at 1/120th of a second (4 stops x 30 = 120) — maybe better if I’d adjusted my exposure compensation. The shutter would have opened and closed so quick that the guy would have seemed frozen in the photo.

This entry was posted in Canon EOS T2i / 550D, Downtown Toronto and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.