Empty Patio at Dusk


EXIF: Ap | 17mm | F5.6 | 1/15 s | ISO 400 | -2.67 eV

This photo was taken right around the corner from where I live. As a matter of fact, 20 years ago I designed that patio railing for a buddy who then built it for the owner of the restaurant. The car wash in the background is the one I posted from the same outing a while back. I used a large aperture, which I now think was a mistake. I focused on the planter box, which is indeed in focus, but too much of the background is out of focus. The planter box really didn’t make a good enough subject to justify this, and even if it did I should have stepped back aways and shot zoomed in, to get a better blurring of the background. I’m certainly not going to lose sleep over it, just mentioning it. To shoot this again I would use a tripod and set the aperture to F8 or maybe F11 and lock the ISO to 100 and let the shutter stay open for a second or two or whatever it took.

This entry was posted in Canon EOS T2i / 550D, Night Photography, Scarborough, Toronto Beaches and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Empty Patio at Dusk

  1. I like this shot. The light of the sky at dusk and the patio lights vs the ambient, almost green, glow from the car wash.

  2. The caveat aside, I still like this shot Dave.

  3. kseverny says:

    i could relax so nicely there

Comments are closed.