Dramatic or Realistic


I often struggle with post processing decisions around correcting lens distortion with large buildings. Often I like to leave them distorted because I like the added drama it brings to the scene. But this viewpoint contradicts my OCD need for nice straight lines and such. Anyway, there’s really no right or wrong, but as you can see from the two photos above, the uncorrected shot is more interesting to the eye. Plus, if you look at the cars in the corrected shot, they are now distorted.

This entry was posted in Canon EOS T2i / 550D, Downtown Toronto and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dramatic or Realistic

  1. I like the first version better. I think it’s important to go with your heart when you take a photo and when you post process..like the saying goes, you don’t take a photograph, you make a photograph 🙂

Comments are closed.