The Red Rocket


For those not from Toronto, we call our street cars Red Rockets. Well, personally I don’t but those who ride ’em do. I call it a 40 foot petri dish. I’d need a full haz-mat suit before I’d consider riding one. We also call out TTC “the better way,” which I believe is meant to be an ironic joke. TTC officially stands for Toronto Transit Commission, but to those who actually don’t want to spend the better part of their short lives on this planet “in transit” it stands for Take The Car. This photo was taken on Spadina Ave during the winter.

This entry was posted in Downtown Toronto, Panasonic Lz2 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Red Rocket

  1. lynnwiles says:

    Vibrant and great DOF Dave. Hope you feel better soon and that the humidity in the botanical gardens worked like a steam room on you, but mind the pollen.

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks Lynn. I’m feeling much better this evening. I think the walk and the sunshine really helped. The four pints I had at my buddy’s place tonight probably didn’t hurt either. 😉

  2. aswirly says:

    Haha, the TTC huh? We have BART (Bay Area Rapid Transit). I also take the car 😉 I do love how eye catching the red is on those red rockets.

  3. milkayphoto says:

    Looks like a street in Boston! Ours is formally called the MBTA (Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority) but folks call it the ‘T’. And yes, your petri description also fits. It’s been years since I’ve had to ride the T and I consider myself lucky. Great urban street photo, Dave!

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks Tracy. I’m dying to visit Boston with my camera. I know there’s tons to shoot there. And I’d love to take that walk on the Freedom Trail. By the way, did you guys ever finish the big dig? I saw a documentary on it and man what a project. Makes the great pyramids look like a sand castle project.

      • milkayphoto says:

        You know? I’m not sure if it ever was 100% completed, but if not, it is probably close (like 99%). For 10 years I worked in Boston but haven’t spent much time there since I left in 2001. Two years ago, we spent 3 days in the city taking some friends from Florida all over the city (the Freedom Trail, Duck Boat Tours, the Navy yard, etc.) We all had a blast! It really is a fun city….if you don’t work there. 🙂

  4. davecandoit says:

    Toronto’s a really fun city as long as you don’t work, live or pay taxes here. And as long as you don’t mind stepping over homeless people on every corner and wading through garbage all over the place. Our current Mayor, David Miller, is building a legacy for himself at the cost of the folks who live here. His legacy is: How I singlehandedly destroyed a once vibrant, financially healthy city in eight short years! 🙂

Comments are closed.