Lady in Black


I snapped this photo outside of the Eaton Centre downtown last weekend. It wasn’t much of a photo and I hadn’t planned on doing anything with it. Why bother, I thought, since I won’t be able to save it. It was over exposed and, frankly, not interesting. But after a bit of post processing I think I managed to get something out of it that I’m happy with. Hope you like it too.

This entry was posted in Black & White Photography, Canon EOS T2i / 550D, Downtown Toronto and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Lady in Black

  1. milkayphoto says:

    Glad you did, Dave! Looks like an ad…but for what? Cigarettes? Clothing? Boots? Jewellry? Her pose is classic and smoking near the fire exit…priceless!

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks Tracy. I’m really happy with it. It’s been cropped quite a bit but I had no choice since my 17-50mm lens just doesn’t have the reach. Also, her forehead is simply blown out because of over exposure, but that’s something I’ll learn to control better.

      • milkayphoto says:

        You are too hard on yourself, Dave. Try not to beat yourself up with the technical stuff. More important is the MOOD you’ve captured. It’s true that you will continue to learn as you go and the NEXT time, you might not have to do much post processing, BUT accept this image as great! (because it IS.) The one image that I sell the MOST of is my least technically correct shot. FOLKS don’t care. They simply like the ‘blue flower’ and I just about cringe every time they choose it. Art is subjective and people like what they like and damn if I’ve been able to figure out why! 🙂

  2. davecandoit says:

    Thanks a kazillion, Tracy. I tend to want to mention the issues I see so that other more knowledgeable photographers, such as yourself and Mauro and Amber and Scott and many others, will know that I do see how the shot could have been improved. One thing I enjoy about photography is that there is so much control over everything and I LOVE control. I get more out of finding the faults in my photos than focusing on the good parts. 🙂 It’s sort of a perfectionist syndrome, but in my case coupled to a slightly lower than average self-esteem and a self-deprecating sense of humour. Not a good mix. 🙂 I know, more info than you wanted to know, right?

    • milkayphoto says:

      We all seem to rip our own work apart. Fatal flaw in ALL artists I believe! Sometimes it is better to sit back and look at the work from the viewpoint of the average Joe. Also, I find the more distance I get from my work the more I like it. It’s like I need to step away from the mindset of all I did ‘wrong’ and see what I did ‘right’.

      Nah. You sound like a typical GOOD photographer to me! Perfectionist? check! Self-deprecation? check! a touch of low self-esteem? Check! 🙂

  3. lynnwiles says:

    Interesting running commentary mixed with a great photo. There’s something classic about the image and I like that a lot.

  4. Wonderful shot Dave. And really you don’t owe anyone an explanation, though I get what you mean. I hope you turned her in to the authorities, she IS blocking the fire exit. 😉

  5. davecandoit says:

    Thanks Lynn and Bob.

  6. Wow, this is a great shot. It looks like a magazine add and it looks like you are having fun with your new camera. 🙂

  7. aswirly says:

    Love this. It looks like it could be a movie poster!

Comments are closed.