Big Buildings in Black & White


Gotta say, I’m loving the new camera. I often perform a lens correction on my architecture shots to fix the distortion but sometimes distortion adds drama to the scene. Like this one, for instance. With this shot I also converted to b & w and dialled up the contrast. I just wish there’s been some interesting cloud cover. Oh, and this is also one of the shots that I slightly over-exposed, but you can’t really see it because I did a vignetting effect to the shot. Hope you like it.

UPDATE: I can’t believe it but I actually managed to lighten up the two ladies walking in the bottom left of the shot, along with the store front and shadowed lane opening. I wish I could say it was because of my keen understanding of PS, but it was simply luck with that magic wand.

This entry was posted in Black & White Photography, Canon EOS T2i / 550D, Downtown Toronto and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Big Buildings in Black & White

  1. aswirly says:

    Glad you’re having fun with the new cam. I love the sense of scale in this scene. The people look soooo small 🙂

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks. Yeah, the people make the shot. I’m actually going to try to lighten them up a bit in PS, although I doubt I’ll be able to figure it out.

  2. zem says:

    I like it. The perspective is great – how wide was the lens? And, I like the juxtaposition of the alienating canyon of buildings and the “Metro Paradise” store name. Nicely done. PS and new camera – must have been pricey. You are moving to pro territory!

    • davecandoit says:

      Thank you, Jack. The lens is a Tameron 17-50mm F2.8. This was shot at 17mm. Yeah, the gear didn’t come cheap but it’s a belated Christmas present to myself. I’m the rundown house on the wrong side of the tracks at the end of the street called Pro Territory. 🙂

  3. Great shot, you seem to hitting your stride with the new toy. BTW, I guess you’re going to have to change your welcome post since your not shooting a P & S camers full time.

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks Bob. I still have a long way to go but it’s all so interesting and fun. Once I get comfortable I’m going to rent a really wide lens for a weekend to see how I make out with it.

  4. lynnwiles says:

    I think the lady smoking by the fire exit should live there.

Comments are closed.