Grossest thing ever!


EXIF – Aperture priority / 17mm / F2.8 / 1/4000 s / ISO 200

I don’t mean to offend, but boy am I disgusted by smoking — cigarettes, butts, second hand smoke, stinky clothes, it’s all totally gross. The one and only good thing our liberal government has done is ban smoking from all public places. I can actually go to a restaurant or pub and have a drink or nice meal without the sickening toxic haze caused of smokers. Yay! The ban has been in place for a few years now and what’s funny is now I’m far more sensitive to it than ever. I had to go to a conference in Calgary a few years back and they still had smoking in the restaurants. I could hardly tolerate it. Everything I ate and drank tasted like burnt tobacco. Worse yet, that burnt tobacco had already been in someone else’s lungs prior to my inhaling it. So totally gross. Anyway, this photo comes from my buddy’s back yard Saturday, where smoking is indeed still permitted. He doesn’t smoke in the house, though, so at least his home doesn’t stink like an ashtray. Oh, and the grossest thing to my eye? When I see some beautiful woman light up on the street. If they only had a clue just how disgusting that makes them look. Any sense of attractiveness flies right out the window. So there you have it, my anti-smoking rant for the day. If I’ve offended some smokers, my bad, but we’re all entitled to our opinions, right? But before you get your back up, consider this: If there was a very simple cure for this addiction, like take one pill and you’ll never need a smoke again, I’m sure every smoker in the world would line up for it.

This entry was posted in Canon EOS T2i / 550D, Homelife, Scarborough and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Grossest thing ever!

  1. y says:

    you have to admit it makes a nice shot, though! (smile) like when i got to house/cat sit for my Canadian neighbor and got my shot in: http://ylphoto.wordpress.com/2010/03/23/ends/ (smile).

  2. teo says:

    I agree with y, it makes a nice shot, somehow the light makes it looks not so gross. I’m with you on smoking, it’s stupid…

  3. Jan Smith says:

    I’m with ya 100%. I hate to smell smoke and I can spot it a mile away. I just saw this sign in a store yesterday that said:

    “If you’re smokin’ in here you better be on fire!”

    I would have bought it but hardly any of our friends smoke. 🙂

  4. Jan Smith says:

    Oh, btw, I love this photo!!!!!

  5. davecandoit says:

    Thanks Jan and Teo. Here in Toronto — well, all of Ontario now — the idea of smoking inside public spaces is simply unheard of. You’re not even permitted to smoke on a covered restaurant patio outside. And how about this: you’re not permitted to smoke in your car with kids in the car. I recall being the back seat passenger on a cross Canada roadtrip with my folks, who chain-smoked from coast to coast. Probably explains why I’m only 4′ 11″ tall and have to wear a paper bag on my head all the time. 🙂

    (just kidding, I’m just a tad under 6 feet and only wear the paper bag in public)

  6. you know roaches eat cigarette butts…if they are starving. yeah, I guess they probably eat anything.

Comments are closed.