Skyline at Dusk


EXIF: Aperture priority / 17mm / F16 / 1/2 s / ISO 100 / 0.0 EV / Tripod

EXIF: Aperture priority / 17mm / F16 / 10 s / ISO 100 / -0.67 EV / Tripod

So at the very last minute I decide to rush out to a spot I know to set up and try to catch some interesting shots at dusk and beyond. Because it was last minute I didn’t quite make it but I did get a bunch of shots. Most are useless, however — little more than a fight with my camera over what I want it to do, with it winning most of the rounds. I need to read up more on night photography, because my camera assumes I want my night shots to look like day shots. No matter how I adjust the settings, it compensates something else to ensure I don’t accidentally get the shot I want. In manual mode I was able to finally get something sort of close, after like 15 shots at different shutter speeds. Boy, my point & shoot was dead easy. Set the ISO to 100 and adjust the shutter until you get something with which you’re happy. Anyway, I’ve got the books and I’m confident I can overcome this little learning curve. This is, after all, only my second time out.

This entry was posted in Canon EOS T2i / 550D, Downtown Toronto, Night Photography, Sunsets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Skyline at Dusk

  1. Mauro Metallo says:

    You are well on your way to win this war, Dave.
    Keep up the good work!

  2. lynnwiles says:

    Gees, again I have to agree with Mauro. Starting to be a trend.

Comments are closed.