Fork York Armories, Toronto


Here’s a photo of the oldest (and only) fort in Toronto. Fort York has been around for almost 200 years. I posted another photo of the fort a couple of weeks ago — the one of the chair on the hardwood floor. I’d originally planned on posting this photo in colour but when I tried it in sepia I fell in love. I think 47 White Buffalo might really like this shot.

This entry was posted in Downtown Toronto, Panasonic Lz2 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Fork York Armories, Toronto

  1. lynnwiles says:

    I like it. Why is the wood jutting out towards the road – to stop Hummers?
    If you are feeling brave, I posted an ad that puts a dslr against a p&s on my blog.

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks Lynn. I think the purpose of the spikes is to keep the horses at bay. Horses would have a very difficult time riding over them. I’m talking back during the war of 1812.

  2. epicswife says:

    Great shot and amazing composition!

  3. Camilla says:

    This photo is so cool! The composition is great!

  4. Mauro Metallo says:

    This photograph is nicely seen and presented, Dave. The tones suit the subject very well.
    I remember trying my hand at it as well, but I couldn’t come up with the proper composition…

  5. milkayphoto says:

    Very interesting angle here Dave and excellent finishing tone! I bet this place has been photographed a million times but never quite like this! 🙂

Comments are closed.