My New Camera – Canon T2i


Well, I finally pulled the trigger on my new rig. As you can see from the photos and title, I went with a Canon T2i and a Tameron 17-50mm F2.8 VR lens. I also picked up a battery grip (I shoot mostly portrait orientation), new tripod, and a couple of filters. Yay! My poor credit card peed its pants when the clerk ran the gear through the machine. As long as I don’t eat until Labour Day I’ll be fine — either that or sell a bunch of photos between now and then. I guess I better start getting used to water. 🙂 When I finally do figure it out I’ll give you some impressions from the point of view of a newbe to DSLR.

No photos yet. I still have to charge the batteries and read the daunting manual. I’m hoping to be able to take my first photo with it by my birthday in June. Wish me luck. 😉

This entry was posted in Canon EOS T2i / 550D and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to My New Camera – Canon T2i

  1. Ben Seese says:

    Excellent choices, Dave. I love that new Manfrotto 804 head, and the Tamron (no E) 17-50 2.8 is my main lens, too. While the whole kit is expensive, you can honestly tell yourself you got phenomenal bang-for-the-buck, top to bottom.

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks Ben, and thanks for your help on the dpreview forum. I actually got a pretty good deal. The sales guy added my name to a buying group that got a big discount because they were buying ten of them at once. The big challenge now is learning how to use it. So far I’m still struggling with getting the strap on. 🙂

  2. milkayphoto says:

    Woo hoo!!! That is awesome, Dave! She’s lookin’ pretty sweet I must say (well, for a Canon, that is). 😉 You are gonna have so much fun!!!! Congratulations! Eating is over-rated… 🙂

  3. shutterboo says:

    Read the manual? Are you serious? Go out and play with that thing as soon as those batteries have a lick of life! No one learned anything by reading a manual – those are for putting things together.

    • davecandoit says:

      LOL… You sound like most of my friends. 🙂 I will likely read the manual while also taking photos in auto mode. I’m big on knowing my equipment, though. I always read the manual, twice. 🙂

      • shutterboo says:

        Lame, Dave. Switch on that Av mode and go to town. With that lens you have, you’ll be getting some fantastic shots. You have an eye for the industrial stuff.

  4. davecandoit says:

    Now how on earth did you know my middle name was Lame??? 🙂

  5. nadia says:

    “So far I’m still struggling with getting the strap on.” Haha, I can so related to that!

    You really don’t need to read the manual. I agree with shutterboo, just switch on the Av mode and start shooting right away. June is sooooo far away!

    Congratulations on the new camera!

    • davecandoit says:

      Thank you, Nadia. I have an appointment this evening or I’d be heading out to catch a sunset. My camera plans will have to wait until tomorrow. Oh well.

  6. Congrats Dave, I look forward to seeing that bad boy in action.

  7. lynnwiles says:

    Congratulations Dave – you did it!!!!

  8. That is one cool looking mean camera. Congrats and Happy Shooting:)

  9. aswirly says:

    Hip hip HOORAY!!! A huge congrats on your new toy! Today is a life changing day 🙂 It’s soooo exciting 🙂 She’s real purty…well, for a Canon 😉 hehe

  10. davecandoit says:

    Thanks a bunch everyone. I can’t wait to take ‘er out for a ride. 🙂

  11. Jan Smith says:

    Congratulations, Dave! I’m proud for you. I was just looking at that camera in an ad in Popular Photography magazine yesterday. I would like to update to a newer camera but with the expensive New York trip I just took, it might be awhile. I’d be out the door in two seconds after that batter is charged if it were me. Manual, shmanual!!!!

  12. y says:

    this is funny because i am ready to get a point-and-shoot to go with my dslr. and i’ve been thinking of the lumix. so while you’ve upgraded, i am planning to downgrade. there are just some places i can’t bring my canon. and you really went all out – with the tripod (which i know you like to use), new lens, battery grip, etc. and my, all that kitchen counter space makes this city dweller green with envy!

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks Y. You know, I’ll likely find I have to pick up another point & shoot too. Mine is now defective, and like you say, you can’t take a DSLR everywhere. I’m really interested in the new Samsung TL500, which has quite a large sensor (1/1.7″ which is big for a p & s), a super fast, wide lens (24mm F/1.8-2.4) a high-res articulating LCD display, and most of the manual controls of a DSLR. The one downside is the lack of zoom, as it is only 3x. The camera should hit the streets some time next month. Personally, I’d wait for some reviews before buying it, just to make sure the image quality is sound. There is also a rumour that Panasonic will be releasing a new LX4 to replace it’s LX3, which will be very interesting. In my opinion that LX3 is about the nest p & s on the market today.

      My kitchen is pretty old, actually. Like around 22 years old. It could use a nice update, along with my bathroom. Gotta win that lottery first, though. 😉

      • y says:

        well, you can’t fake counter space! i’ll read about the samsung, but i think the lumix and its amazing zoom is preferred.

  13. holy marmot, that’s amazing! anon is really the best choice. Happy photo-ing, you deserve it.

  14. louise says:

    that looks like an amazing camera 🙂 bet you’ll take loads of beautiful pictures w it 🙂

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks Louise. I’m hoping everyone will be so overwhelmed by the size of the camera they will just assume the photos coming out of it are great! 🙂

  15. Yeah, you are going to have a lot of fun learning and shooting with this setup. Once you get through the manual. Get a copy of Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson. Have the camera in your hand while reading it and your manual nearby for reference. It will take a lot of frustration out of using an SLR camera and help out the learning curve.

    Enjoy! Really, June?

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks Scott. I just finished Understanding Exposure and will now return to it with camera in hand, as you suggest. I also have a second book on the way that’s like Understanding Exposure, but based solely on using the Canon T1i (last year’s model to my camera). My camera is too new to have any books out on it. I’m really hoping that book will help a lot.

      • This book is one I read ever year. It’s a good refresher. Having the camera with you when you read it helps to remember the stuff he teaches.

        I’ve gotten so I use P mode and use a dial to find the best creative exposure I am looking for.

  16. davecandoit says:

    Thanks Scott. I agree. I can see me going back to this book time and time again.

  17. Richard says:

    If you want something more down to detail, try buying: Introduction to the Canon Rebel T2i / EOS 550D : Basic Controls Training DVD by Blue Crane Digital
    http://www.amazon.com/Introduction-Canon-Rebel-T2i-550D/dp/B003EUEEJQ

Comments are closed.