Are YOU looking at ME!


I saw Alice in Wonderland last night with my friend Diane. It was good and the 3D effects were terrific. Can’t say it was my favourite Tim Burton flick but hey, they can’t all be Edward Scissorhands, right? Actually, I think my favourite is a tie between Big Fish and Ed Wood. The real surprise was the cost: $31.00 for two tickets. I jokingly told the ticket guy I didn’t want to buy the movie, only watch it. Anyway, after the movie Diane and I got talking about the challenge of photographing strangers on the street and I mentioned the above photo and said I’d post it this morning. This is another from my outing with Mauro on Queen West last weekend. The wall and guy were behind us as we walked by and when I turned to check it out the guy gave me a look. I knew it would be hard to get his photo without him reacting to it but I wanted to catch him off guard. As we walked away I told Mauro to hold up a bit and then I simply swung around (about 40 feet away), raised my camera and quickly snapped the shot. Afterwards the guy moved and turned away so I couldn’t get another, but by then it didn’t matter. Hope you like it, and Happy Sunday! It’s stormy out there today, lots of rain and wind, but at least it’s warm and snow free. We also lost an hour to the clocks moving forward, but that’s okay. I feel a book store trip coming on. Yay for spring! 🙂

This entry was posted in Downtown Toronto and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Are YOU looking at ME!

  1. wildstorm says:

    This is a great shot! Aren’t you working on a 100 strangers project?

  2. lynnwiles says:

    I will only say this once – Edward Scissorshands is the best.

  3. Ahhh Depp in Dead Man–that’s The Best.

    Hi.
    Like the way you ‘got’ the shot of the reluctant dude. I wouldn’t dare!

  4. y says:

    i’m going to say Big Fish. and that i get yelled at (and/or reprimanded) if i’m not careful.

  5. davecandoit says:

    Thanks 47WB. Not sure I know that movie.
    I won’t yell at you, Y. 🙂 Big Fish is a truly wonderful movie.

  6. y says:

    and here i thought you were camera-shy…

  7. davecandoit says:

    The things I do for the people I like, eh? 🙂

Comments are closed.