Shoeless Joe needs a coffee


Here is a crop of the above shot, putting the focus more on the subject than the scene. With the 18 megapixel Canon I’m buying next week I’ll be able to make crops like this without worrying about ruining the image quality.

Although it was a rather nice day out when I took this photo, it was still winter and much too cold to be laying around without shoes. What I find really striking about this photo is how this scene is so prevalent in Toronto that the people around the shoeless homeless guy seem oblivious to his presence. Also, take note that he’s holding up a Tim Horton’s Coffee cup outside of a Starbucks. This would be a comical photo if it weren’t so sad. At least with an election coming up and our Mayor, David Miller, not running again, we have a chance to elect someone with some fiscal common sense, which could result in people not losing their jobs and homes due to over taxation.

This entry was posted in Downtown Toronto and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Shoeless Joe needs a coffee

  1. milkayphoto says:

    This photo speaks volumes on the human condition. Bravo.

  2. davecandoit says:

    And the political condition. Thanks Tracy.

  3. kseverny says:

    what a strange thing to spot.lol

    • davecandoit says:

      I know. Part of me wanted to crop it into a very wide shot of the guy and his cup, with the legs of the people to the right, but because of the low resolution of my camera I didn’t think it would be able to handle such a crop. But you know what, as I write this I’m going to try it anyway and maybe I’ll post the results under the above photo. When I get my new camera that will no longer be a problem, since the resolution is high enough to handle such crops without degrading image quality.

      • milkayphoto says:

        I prefer the original image over the crop. Seeing the whole scene, with the oblivious walking by, carrying on with their lives (‘just another day in paradise’, if you will) speaks VOLUMES. The angle, the dirty street and sidewalk, the neon signs, the bare feet, the outstretched hand with cup, the image title. Amazingly powerful. and sad. don’t forget sad.

  4. I am looking forward to seeing your new camera in action.

  5. aswirly says:

    Oh gosh, this is really sad 😦
    I’m excited for you new camera tho…

  6. Absolutely GREAT camera catch, Dave. A lot of people would not take such a shot for all sorts of reasons. KUDOS for doing so and posting it. Yes OUR HUMAN CONDITION–what is going on when this is a ‘given’?
    Oh boyo, when you’re godo you’re great with your camera eye.

  7. Pingback: The Lazy Photographer Scores « 47whitebuffalo’s Blog

  8. davecandoit says:

    Thanks everyone. I’m very excited about my new camera too. Also very nervous, I have to admit. I’m not very good with change and I’m so worried this new camera will overwhelm me with its functionality and hinder me in taking nice photos. I’m usually not afraid of technology, so this is really a bit perplexing for me. After all, it’s just a camera, right? 🙂

  9. That is so sad. I remember the first time I visited Toronto and I was shocked of how many homeless people there were in the streets.

    Congrats on your new camera though, you must be pretty excited.

  10. davecandoit says:

    Thank you, Consuelo, and yes I[‘m very excited about the new camera. Can’t wait.

    Tracy: Yeah, the full sized version is more of a story telling shot than the crop. It’s sad how indifferent people can be to this sort of thing. Like, could no one take but a moment to pull the blanket over his exposed feet?

  11. davecandoit says:

    47WB: Will do, thanks. 🙂

Comments are closed.