Flight Path


Smudges clearly visible in photos of the sky. I dialled up the contrast to show them better.

As you can see, there are smudges in this photo (the most visible smudge it just above the bird’s right wing). When I wrote about them last night I assumed they were on the lens, but after a thorough cleaning (I even ran the camera through the dishwasher–kidding) the smudges are still present. Verdict: My camera is broken. Those smudges must be on the sensor, likely caused when I dropped it. 😦 Looks like I’ll be getting a new camera sooner than I thought. It’s a drag, though, because I was hoping to keep this camera as a spare for times when I didn’t want to take out the big DSLR. I’m going to hit the camera store downtown today and see if there’s any chance of a quick fix, but it’s very unlikely. Oh well. Crying over spilt milk won’t get it back into the bottle, right.

This entry was posted in Scarborough, Toronto Beaches and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Flight Path

  1. milkayphoto says:

    Ah, that’s too bad Dave. And you are unable to get to your image sensor to clean it? That is what is good about a DLSR – I can clean my own sensor when need be. Might be worth sending the camera out to get cleaned, just so you have a spare when you get your new one!

    • davecandoit says:

      I’m going to ask the folks at a local camera store but frankly I think the camera isn’t worth saving. I might buy a new Panasonic LX3 now and hold off on a DSLR until later. The LX3 has many of the manual features of a DSLR and will give me an opportunity to learn to shoot in manual prior to spending the big bucks on a DSLR. Plus, but the summer I’m sure Nikon will have a replacement out for the D90, which is really my first choice.

  2. lynnwiles says:

    Sensors can be cleaned and yes, that’s where your smudges are. I have had ample smudge experience in my day. The longer the exposure, the more they show. Are you getting the Canon?

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks Lynn. Keep in mind that my little p & s does not have a removable lens, making sensor cleaning far more difficult and expensive.

      • lynnwiles says:

        I’m sure someone could figure it out, but in the meantime you get your dream camera at last – congratulation, can’t wait to see the results.

  3. but the image is still good. I like how in the first one there are two birds in the way-off far distance, gives it depth.

  4. Bummer Dave, maybe now is the right time to pull the trigger.

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks Bob. Yeah, Mauro and I were looking at cameras yesterday. I’m probably going to buy the Canon T2i, but I also really like the Panasonic GF1. The GF1 is more of a street camera, but the T2i gives me far more shooting options and lens choices.

Comments are closed.