The Glove that Time Forgot


Do you see it there, the glove buried under the dirt? You can just make out a few fingers. It’s probably been there an awfully long time. What I like to wonder about sometimes is the notion that somewhere in some factory this glove was formed in a mould machine operated by a factory worker, probably in the U.S. if it was long enough ago, and this glove would have been one of hundreds coming from that machine that day alone. From there it ended up in some warehouse and then some store and finally in the brick factory when it was operational. Who knows how long that glove was worn or how it ended up where it did, but in the end here it is on my blog. Wouldn’t it be funny if the factory worker who produced the glove to begin with came upon my blog, oblivious to the fact that one of his or her creations was underneath all that dirt and grime? Just a thought.

This entry was posted in Downtown Toronto, Industrial and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Glove that Time Forgot

  1. Oh eegads–I didn’t think of it as a ‘glove’ but as a HAND–or a handprint or part of some ‘stattue’ –handprints of long gone humans now extinct. Yeah, my mind is streaming right along….hi.

  2. uncoveringyou says:

    I like the way you think lol

  3. aswirly says:

    Now that is quite some thought on this poor widdle glove. It would be pretty cool if the maker saw it here. Did you ever watch that show “How it’s made?”

  4. davecandoit says:

    Thanks Gang. I’ve seen “How it’s made” but don’t watch it regularly. Glad y’all liked the glove. I wonder if it’s the missing one in the set owned by the late Michael Jackson. 😉

  5. Haha, I think you’re projecting a bit. Actually, its good to see someone say what I am normally thinking. We could have our own blog…The OCD Photographer. Oprah in five minutes, gotta go. 😉

  6. lynnwiles says:

    Rusty and mysterious, good one.

  7. milkayphoto says:

    Great post, Dave. I think of this stuff all the time. Like, I wish I could touch the object and head back in time to see how it got there. But then again, I think not since I am sure there are many journeys I would prefer not to know about! Best left to my imagination! 🙂

    • davecandoit says:

      That would make you the ghost whisperer. 🙂
      I’d rather be able to touch something, like my lotto ticket, and see next week’s numbers. 🙂
      Thanks, Tracy.

  8. y says:

    oo, rather haunting…and a tad reminder of nyc…

Comments are closed.