Catwalk in black & white


This photo, taken yesterday, is from King St. & Victoria St. in downtown Toronto. I’ve been to this spot a few times now and always seem to get a new photo. In this case I tweaked the contrast, applied a lens correction to straighten the buildings and obviously dialled down the saturation until I had a black & white. Hope you like it. I’ve got a second one taken from the street looking down this driveway, also black & white, which I’ll post another time.

This entry was posted in Black & White Photography, Downtown Toronto, Winter Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Catwalk in black & white

  1. milkayphoto says:

    What FANTASTIC location for a portrait shoot! I can just envision a woman dressed in a dramatic gown (red, or course) OR even a bride/groom on top of that catwalk (and I don’t even shoot weddings)! Cool shot. Amazingly deserted.

  2. Yes, it would be a good location for people but where is the cat?

  3. davecandoit says:

    Thanks Tracy and Scott. Yes, it would be a great place for a portrait shot. Maybe a little gloomy for a wedding shot.

  4. Mauro Metallo says:

    I like what you did here, Dave.
    Lovely B/W conversion, with excellent tones and contrast. The details are also awesome, and the light on those bricks is simply to die for.
    In my modest opinion it’s a 4 star picture, missing perfection for the lack of the uman element in it: With a person in the frame it would be a live, vibrant, gallery-grade shot!
    All in all, a great job.
    Bravo!

  5. lynnwiles says:

    Oh dear, once again I have to agree with Mauro 100%

Comments are closed.