Welcome to the Machine


Here’s another photo from The Brickworks. We’re getting snowed in over the next few days. First real bit of snow so far. I debated staying in bed until next week, but I’ve got photos to edit and other work to do. Oh well.

This entry was posted in Downtown Toronto, Industrial and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Welcome to the Machine

  1. Great detail and color. The rig looks like something out of a comic book that a superhero would butt head with.

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks Scott. Yeah, it does have that ominous comic book “look” to it, doesn’t it.
      Hey Scott, I know you’re a Nikon shooter but I was wondering if you’ve looked at that new Canon T2i DSLR? Sounds like a sweet ride, although I have yet to see any reviews. DXO Labs tested a pre-production model and the results point to it being not as good as the Nikon D90 with dynamic range and in low light situations.

      • Don’t know a lot about Canons. My stock reply is to go to a store and hold them. Look through the viewer, see how the buttons and such feel to your hand. Put on a couple of lenses and see how the camera feels in your hand.

        For me, Nikon is a step ahead of Canon on picture quality and ISO range. But I am a Nikon guy. 🙂 All of today’s DSLR cameras are light years ahead of my old Nikon D70.

        If you are not ready for a DLSR, the Canon G11 and S90 are something for you to look at.

  2. milkayphoto says:

    Niiice…why do we like old, rusted things so much??

  3. davecandoit says:

    Scott: Thanks. I actually prefer Nikon, too. If Nikon released an updated version of the D90, like a D95 or something, I’d be all over it. I like the D90 but suspect its replacement will have better AF and live view performance, which is worth waiting for. The Canon T2i looks like a great camera, although at 18 megapixels once can’t help but wonder about high ISO performance. Or I could simply get a D300s and call it a day. 🙂 Tracy shoots with a D300, don’t you, Tracy.

    Tracy: Thanks. I don’t know why I’m drawn to this type of shot. On the other hand, the wildlife shots I’ve seen on your blog are very appealing to me also. But my lowly p & s can’t catch birds like your D300.

  4. Sweet, is this an homage to Pink Floyd? Btw, I am serious about upgrading to a D90 in the next month, I will keep you posted.

    • davecandoit says:

      Man I used to eat up Pink Floyd when I was younger. That’s great news about the D90. You’ll have to let me know how you like it. I’ve heard nothing but good things.

  5. lynnwiles says:

    Put me down for another one drawn to rusted machinery — love it Dave.

  6. y says:

    what a face!!

Comments are closed.