Old City Hall, Toronto


Here’s a photo of Old City Hall from the front. Obviously I was standing right under the thing, but I wanted to show off the fancy stonework. They don’t make ’em like this any more. I’ve got a couple of other shots of it that I’ll post down the road. I’m a bit disappointed the sky didn’t come out the right colour.

This entry was posted in Downtown Toronto, Winter Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Old City Hall, Toronto

  1. kseverny says:

    wow.
    Old buildings have so much character

  2. milkayphoto says:

    You’d love Boston, Dave. These are a dime a dozen here! Nice light on the buidling. Again, I’d make a note for when perhaps there is a nice moody sky with clouds and head back for a second try. BUT, with that said, this is still an excellent capture! 🙂

    • davecandoit says:

      I’m totally reading your mail, Tracy. Imagine this shot with a really dark and foreboding sky above. Add some vignetting and you’d have a real keeper.
      I’ve been to Boston once when I was a kid. I have two very slim memories of it. 1. Driving into the city on a highway at night. Of course I was the back seat driver, while Dad was behind the wheel and Mom chain smoked — yuk. I remember the dark and the distant lights of the city. 2. Eating lobster at some restaurant. Even that’s barely a memory now.
      One day I’ll see Boston again, once I have a nice camera. I’d also love to see Washington, and of course New York. I’d also love to visit all the National Park Lodges across America. Boy, I’m gonna have to buy me another lottery ticket tomorrow. 🙂

      • milkayphoto says:

        So you dream of coming to America, eh? 🙂 Boston is waaaay better than the solemn memory you have. You will have to return someday, with LOTS of media cards since you will fill them up very, very fast (tall ships, old historic buildings and statues, street life, old cemeterys, warships, I could go on and on. I actually just read your About page today and I’m sorry to hear you are having trouble finding employment. 😦 I thought things were only rough here in the states. With the type of photography you do, are there opportunities to freelance for the local papers and mags? I bet they’d eat your stuff up. Not that I have any idea how to break into that field, mind you, but it is just a thought. 🙂

  3. davecandoit says:

    I’ve never been much for travel. Always been too busy with work. I was self-employed most of my life. But now that I’ve found photography I want to travel and take photos. It’s funny you mention freelance, I’ve been kicking around the idea for a while now. Everything’s on hold until I get a real camera.

Comments are closed.