Life on the Street


This photo was taken on Richmond St., if I recall, but it might have been King St. If you’ve followed along you might recall a previous photo I posted of a street person sitting on the sidewalk reading a magazine or book. This photo was taken mere yeards away from that, and you can see that person in the distance. The photo’s a bit noisy because I cropped it substantially. Hope you like it.

This entry was posted in Downtown Toronto, Winter Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Life on the Street

  1. milkayphoto says:

    Is this a common scene in Toronto? Here, it seems, the homeless hide in doorways or under bridges and not out in the open streets. This woman (?) is brave to just be out like that. A really strong reminder that no matter how bad I think I have it, I am truly lucky and blessed! I find it difficult to photograph the harsh realities of life. Good thing there are photogs like you who do the dirty work. 🙂

    • davecandoit says:

      Unfortunately, it is. Rather than force homeless people off the streets, the city prefers to waste our tax dollars in facilitating their lifestyle choice. In Councillor Adam Vaughan’s ward they built a shelter that’s gone so over budget that the beds cost $250,000 a piece. It would have been far cheaper to simply hand these people small studio condos at under $200,00 each. But most everything this city touches goes to crap, thanks to the worst Mayor in this city’s long history. To give you a sense of the waste and incompetence at Toronto City Hall, last year they decided to buy hand sanitizer in bulk. Our city paid over $250,000 more than it had to because no one thought to get multiple bids. In another case, city councillors voted to pay the legal fees of a councillor who lost a libel case against his opponent during his election campaign. The legal dept. at City Hall told council flat out this was not right, but they don’t care because it’s not their money. This crackerjack councillor Adam Vaughan at one point wanted to charge people a tax to line up on the sidewalk outside of nightclubs. Insane, but normal operating procedure here in Toronto. I honestly wouldn’t be surprised if end up charging us a tax to breathe the air. In all my life I’ve never seen things in this city so bad.

      Sorry, but I digress. 🙂

      Yes, it’s not easy photographing those less fortunate. I think the best way to do it is to give them a few bucks for their trouble. Most don’t care if you photograph them and some welcome the attention. It’s not a bad idea to chat with them a bit too, you know, treat them like human beings.

  2. milkayphoto says:

    Wow – do you feel better, now that all that is off your chest? 🙂 What you describe is pretty typical of most city politics. City officials are all idiots! I try to have as little interaction as I can. I find, it helps me keep my sanity! 🙂

Comments are closed.