Skywatch Friday – Big Crane Under Badass Sky


Here’s my entry for this week’s Skywatch Friday. I took this photo down at The Brickworks when I was out with Mauro. When we compared photos it turned out we took almost the same one of this crane. Hope you like it.

This entry was posted in Black & White Photography, Downtown Toronto, Industrial, Skywatch Friday, Winter Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Skywatch Friday – Big Crane Under Badass Sky

  1. J Bar says:

    Great shot. Great work.

  2. lynnwiles says:

    Wow, that is one big rig.

  3. Tricia says:

    love that sky & i wouldn’t have thought it’d look so good in b&w… but it does! great!

  4. Mauro Metallo says:

    I like this shot, Dave: It is indeed a lot similar to mine… But you included more sky, I was more attracted, instead, by the criss-cross of the trusses on the crane.
    Have a look:
    http://gallery.lfi-online.de/gallery/displayimage.php?album=lastup&cat=-3589&pos=2

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks Mauro. As I’ve mentioned before during our walkabouts, it’s funny how we can see the same thing but come up with such different shots. Yours is different but no less interesting.

  5. VioletSky says:

    I like the colours in this, how the sky peeking through the clouds seems to match the crane. And it helps you to concentrate on the lines.

  6. lisa mertins says:

    wow, nice composition. i’m a sucker for crane-ee sorts of images!

  7. Carol says:

    Cold grey steel, cold grey sky! Nice!

  8. Müge says:

    Great shot indeed! Very impressive!

  9. davecandoit says:

    Thank you everyone, very much appreciated. 🙂
    Happy Friday!

  10. arabesque says:

    i like it indeed, there’s just a nice symmetry on this foto and even when it’s shot in b&w, you can imagine the color of the sky and the crane.

  11. milkayphoto says:

    I love perspectives like this! Reminds us of how very small we are. I am sure this was one BIG crane and by shooting it this way, you made it appear even BIGGER! I agree – that sky is fantastic! What a shot! 🙂

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks so much, Tracy. What I’d really like to do is get some shots from the cab of the crane, way up in the air. But, I’m afraid I’m afraid of heights.

  12. Margy says:

    Looks more like a badass crane against a big sky. Just kidding. Nice composition. – Margy

Comments are closed.