Happy Family Day!


For those not living in Ontario, Family Day is a new holiday our Premier Dalton McGuinty introduced a couple of years ago to distract the voters from all the lies and broken promises and disappointments we’ve been plagued with since he was elected. I won’t get into it, since it would take me hours to write out the list, but suffice to say this is one of the few things he’d done right. Me, I only have my Dad, so most holidays are pretty much meaningless anyway, except to remind me of the things in life I do not have. Nonetheless, I met Dad for a coffee at the local coffee shop and we went for a chilly walk through the neighbourhood, which was nice. He’s on his way to Florida for a couple of weeks as of tomorrow. So Happy Family Day, Ontario. This photo was taken Christmas day as two men and a boy (looked like three generations) sat at the end of the Leuty Lighthouse Pier watching the crashing waves batter the shoreline.

This entry was posted in Toronto Beaches, Winter Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Happy Family Day!

  1. aswirly says:

    Family day sounds nice. And how nice that you took the opportunity to spend it with your dad. I spent the day with my dad on Saturday. It’s nice to have those moments to reconnect I think. Touching photo too btw 😉

    • davecandoit says:

      Thank you. It was nice. He lives close by so we usually meet up once or twice weekly at the mall for coffee or lunch. He’s retired now and my Mom’s passed on and I have no brothers or sisters so it’s just us.

  2. lynnwiles says:

    Great photo and a good holiday – is it on a Monday, the day after Valentine’s Day or is it instead of VDay?

  3. davecandoit says:

    Yep, at least those living in Ontario. It’s a nice break in the middle of winter.

Comments are closed.