Obnoxious Street Photography!


Mauro sent me this video this morning. It’s basically a camera crew following Bruce Gilden, infamous street photographer, at work snapping photos on the mean streets of New York City. As the video began to roll, I thought to myself, “Oh boy, this is going to be fun to watch. Maybe I’ll learn something.” And boy did I ever. You really have to watch the video to appreciate the lesson here.

Before you watch the video, check out Gilden’s work at Magnum Photos.

And here is his Wikipedia entry:

After you watch the video, I would like to get your opinion on his “approach” to shooting people in the streets.

Thanks for the link, Mauro. Keep ’em coming. 🙂

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Obnoxious Street Photography!

  1. Mauro Metallo says:

    Bruce Gilden is a Magnum Photographer, and there are only 81 Magnum photographers in the world. He made history and made himself millions.
    However, I deeply dislike him. I don’t like his ways, his rudeness, his lack of ethics and his images, for the way they are taken.
    Enough said.

  2. uncoveringyou says:

    i’m surprised no one tried to punch him lol. I was amazed by his brazen ways and in your face approach..but didn’t particularly like it – or the shots he ended up with. Does that make me a snob? :O

  3. milkayphoto says:

    Wow. I wonder if he ever gets charged with “assualt with a deadly camera”! I agree his style is ‘in your face’ but, I guess he does seem to capture the grittiness and honesty of street life. Not sure there is any other way to do that effectively. I know I couldn’t do it!

  4. davecandoit says:

    Thanks, Tracy. I’ve seen that type of lightbox too. Almost went that direction. To be honest, if I were to do it again (which I might) I’d probably build it that way. It seems to allow more flexibility for lighting. With mine you can light from the front and top only. I have a small hatch… You know, I’ll just take another shot using the hatch and post it.

Comments are closed.