Experimental Photography


My last photo of the night. I took this with Mauro on King St. W. Of course his will be black & white. I wanted to try something gritty and contrasty, with off colours and such. Personally, I really like it, but I won’t feel back if you don’t.

This entry was posted in Downtown Toronto and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Experimental Photography

  1. Mauro Metallo says:

    I really like it, Dave! And the coke fridge stands out so nice!
    Mine, instead, is not even black and white: It’s all white… Overexposed beyond recognition by mistake…
    Unforgivable! Shame on me!

  2. uncoveringyou says:

    i like it…feels lonely…do you do much in the way of post processing or are you just that good?

  3. milkayphoto says:

    I do like it and I think it is BECAUSE of the way you finished it!

    (Only in Canada would a coin-operated laundry room actually have artwork hanging on the walls! 🙂 )

  4. Amazing! And congrats on being the featured blog in Art!

  5. davecandoit says:

    Sorry, Tracy. You and Kim were both posting at the same time and I got mixed up. There are like three different jokes that immediately come to mind but I’ll be good. 🙂

  6. Jan Smith says:

    I love the red Coke machine. This one is really cool.
    Hey, I gotta new blog. It’s at http://janlovesdecor.blogspot.com
    Check it out and tell me what you think.

    • davecandoit says:

      Thank you, Jan. I checked out your new blog, looks great. I’ve got a new one all ready to launch, too. Just waiting until I finish up the space on this one.

  7. lynnwiles says:

    Refresh my memory Dave – how do you leave only the red in there? It’s an interesting shot and well, I like Coke with my pizza.

    • davecandoit says:

      I don’t do it the right way. In photoshop you can use the eye dropper to set a colour, but what I did here is tweak up the red first, then dialled back the saturation until the overly bold red was brought back to normal while the rest of the scene became quite under saturated. I then dialled up the green a bit to add a little something. This is one of my favourite photos, actually.

Comments are closed.