Leuty Lifegard Station after dark


Here’s another photo from tonight’s outing. I gotta say, this little point & shoot never ceases to amaze me for it’s low light acumen. I was going to crop this photo but I keep liking it surrounded by night. For a while there I was the only soul walking the cold boardwalk. Anyway, what do you think of all this black around a small lamp-lit subject? You like or no?

This entry was posted in Night Photography, Toronto Beaches, Winter Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Leuty Lifegard Station after dark

  1. uncoveringyou says:

    i know that there are photographers out there who will say there’s too much negative space…or empty space or whatever…but I like it..my eye is drawn in – the composition is good. It sets a mood – good shot 🙂

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks Kim. I did try to crop it but then it became just another shot. I think if the scene was filled with sky and beach, it would definitely need cropping or the lifeguard station would get lost around everything else, but since everything else is solid black, I think it makes for something a bit different.

      This is SOOO way past my bedtime. I might have to sleep in until 8:00 AM tomorrow. 🙂

  2. uncoveringyou says:

    same here!!! I’m totally sleeping in tomorrow too :):)

  3. Susannah says:

    I love this shot! You were wise not to crop it.

    (By the way, I’m chuckling at your “It was so cold …” jokes. They remind me of the winters I spent up north, where the winter wind blew so strong and constant that it blew your toilet paper out the back door in the fall, and rolled it back up in the spring.)

  4. wildstorm says:

    I like this too with all that space. Great effect.

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks, Anita. It’s funny it turned out like this, since the night sky was clear and speckled with starlight and the beach itself was catching some light from the boardwalk lamps.

  5. Mauro Metallo says:

    I almost missed that! My bad…
    Cool shot, “shining” for originality and framing.
    Very well seen and executed. I understand that the scarce light makes the suject quite difficoult to capture.

Comments are closed.