NO PICTURES!


I have to laugh when shop owners try to stop me from taking photos of their establishments as I walk by. I mean, sorry, but storefronts represent public domain in my view. But maybe I’m wrong, I don’t know. What do you think? The photo was taken in the trendy Queen Street West area.

This entry was posted in Downtown Toronto, Winter Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to NO PICTURES!

  1. slamdunk says:

    I say shoot away.

  2. shutterboo says:

    Everything I’ve read (in America) says that if you can see if while on public property, you can shoot it. People, stores, homes… as long as your feet are planted on the public property. If you were inside the store, that would be different. On the other hand, many photographers in England have been banned – something about security measures.
    But because of the way photos are distributed in this day and age [and thanks to the interweb], many people believe that they have rights that they don’t actually have. Some think you can’t take their picture on the sidewalk. But you can. Because it’s public domain. You just have to hope they don’t attack you and that you can run faster.

  3. davecandoit says:

    If there was anything inappropriate about this scene or subject I would not have taken the photo, or at the very least not have published it to the web. But it’s totally innocuous. If you don’t want your storefront photographed, black out the windows. But even then, someone like me might find a storefront with blacked-out windows intriguing enough to photograph it. You can’t win so why lose sleep over it, right?

  4. uncoveringyou says:

    shoot and run laughing all the way!!!! yippeee!!!

    • davecandoit says:

      LOL… Atta girl. 🙂
      As I was shooting she stepped outside and said “No photography.” At that point my camera was already taking three shots in auto bracket mode. When I finished I said, Too late, I already took the photos,” with a smile. She just shook her head and went back inside. Oh well. Can’t make friends with everyone you meet, right?

  5. milkayphoto says:

    I love this! I would have probably been so flustered that I would have stopped. So glad you kept shooting. You would be a great photojournalist!

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks, Tracy. I’m usually a bit more polite around this sort of stuff, but she was getting like all authoritarian on me. Sorry, Dear, last I checked you don’t own the sidewalks.

Comments are closed.