Street Guitar in B & W


Here’s another photo from my Sunday outing with Mauro. This was taken on Queen St. just west of Toronto’s city hall.

This entry was posted in Black & White Photography, Downtown Toronto, Winter Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Street Guitar in B & W

  1. Mauro Metallo says:

    Beautiful tones and very nice composition, furtherly enhaced by the strong perspective.
    I love the position of the guitarist in the frame.
    Nice shot, Dave!

  2. milkayphoto says:

    Something I’ve noticed about you Dave – you really prefer portrait-orientated (vertical) shots over landscape-orientated shots (horizontal). How come? Just curious that’s all.

    I like this shot – another gritty street scene with nice composition. I wonder how it would have composed if in landscape orientation?

    • davecandoit says:

      You’ve got a keen eye for detail, Tracy. I’ve noticed that too. Why, I’m not sure. I do like landscape orientation, but for some reason I seem to gravitate to the portrait orientation. It might be partly because I like to include a lot of sky.

      • milkayphoto says:

        And I’d have to say I’m the opposite – always going for the landscape shots! In my “collection print” of Proj 365 images, I have to include 3 vertical shots on each page. I swear sometimes that is the only reason I remember to shoot veritcal! 🙂

  3. Dave, what an interesting collection of textures, subjects, and perspective. A guitar player–outside SUCH a fence! Where’s the music? Great shot. Oh yeah.

  4. davecandoit says:

    Tracy: I should really try harder to shoot landscape oriented shots. It’s really the only way to learn landscape composition. I’m going out again tomorrow with Mauro for another photo outing so I think I’ll keep the landscape thing in mind.

Comments are closed.