Product Photography – Glasses


So like I mentioned in my previous post I spent much of the day photographing restaurant glassware. Let me be the first to say that I know it’s not perfect. You can see glare from the lighting, a bit of shadowing, and the white balance is both off and not consistent between shots. This is why professional photographers are paid handsomely for this type of work. One thing I discovered — unfortunately half way through the shoot —  is my camera has a white balance set function that allows me to set the WB based on a white image. Sort like telling the camera, Okay, see this backdrop? It’s WHITE. It didn’t even dawn on me that such an inexpensive camera would have such a function. But, with all things considered, from my utter lack of experience and knowledge about lighting to my crappy point & shoot camera to my lack of any actual lighting equipment, I think it came out not so bad. When you see the photos grouped like this, the inconsistent white balance really stands out. Don’t worry, I’m not planning to quit my day job. 🙂

This entry was posted in Product Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Product Photography – Glasses

  1. uncoveringyou says:

    there’s only ONE problem….they’re all empty….and now I’m thirsty!!!

  2. shutterboo says:

    I was going to say “You know what would make them better?” but uncoveringyouyou beat me to the punchline. 😉
    Are you using a light box? I made one (out of cardboard and vellum paper) and I can’t believe how nice it works. But I do have to still change the white balance with lamps vs natural light.

  3. davecandoit says:

    Yeah, I don’t use flash either, except in emergencies. Can’t recall my last flash emergency. Your light box is great! Nice job. I think I’ll try that one.

  4. milkayphoto says:

    I think you did a pretty good job first time out. Hey, we all gotta learn somehow! 🙂

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks, Tracy. A local college here in Toronto offers a variety of photography courses, one of which is on lighting. Once I get a new camera I’m going to enrol. DSLR is a pre-requisite to enrolment.

Comments are closed.