Fire Breather


Had a bit of a scare tonight. Downstairs watching the telly when I noticed it seemed to be getting a tad chilly. Considering I actually like it a bit cooler in the house I thought this odd. Check the ol’ thermostat and low and behold, it was 68 F! (Too lazy to figure out how to switch the thermostat to Celsius.) Uh oh, I says to me-self. This can be nooo good. I notched the thermostat up a degree to call for heat and then headed down to the belly of the beast, the furnace room, for a looksee. There lives my faithful 23 year old fire burner. FYI, one human year is four furnace years, so my beast she’s getting on. I slip off her jacket and check for a pulse. Uh oh again. (Three uh ohs and you’re out!) No flame. So now I’m worried. This might call for some effort on my part. And you know me… So with fingers and toes crossed I switch off power to my baby, wait a minute and switch ‘er back on, just in case it’s a matter of resetting something. Low and behold, when she comes back on she fires right up, all burners a-roarin’ with anger and vengeance. Yay! me thinks. But to be safe, I run upstairs and book me an appointment with a serviceman (or woman) for tomorrow to have ‘er looked over. Bottom line, it was a close call. Could have been a cooold night. So while I was down there I decided to try some furnace photography. Very popular with the home inspector crowd, I hear. In post processing the photo above, I really cranked up, well, everything. Just kicked the shit out of it to see what I’d get. I actually am not unhappy with the results. It’s gritty, industrial, colourful, and it’s hiding in my basement. Hope you like it. Off to bed. A nice warm toasty bed. Hope it stays that way.

This entry was posted in Industrial, Winter Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fire Breather

  1. lynnwiles says:

    I don’t like lighting my boiler or water heater, but the next time I am called to do so, I think I’ll bring my camera and call it a photo shoot opportunity (would that help?). I keep my heat at 64 in the evening and 60 at night & day, lots of layers. I don’t usually like overly manipulated photos, but it’s usually pretty drab in the bowels of a boiler, so you did good Dave.

  2. davecandoit says:

    Oooh, that’s gooood! 🙂

  3. milkayphoto says:

    You wouldn’t like my house then, Dave. Stat is set for 66 during the day and 62 at night. Once our rads heat up, things stay fairly warm – I’ved learnt to adapt! I also have a space heater for me in my studio that works just fine during the day. We also have a couple of zones so we turn it up for the tv watching hours, and to keep the cat happy with her “saunas” on the radiator cover! 🙂

    Glad it all worked out for you!

    • davecandoit says:

      That’s really surprising, Tracy. Here I’m thinking I’m living cool at like 69-70 F. I’m really honoured to have such cool friends visiting my blog as you and Lynn. 🙂

      The furnace guy came by today and it turned out to be a really simple issue. I’m on a program that insures me for this sort of stuff so it didn’t cost a dime. Yay!

Comments are closed.