Are YOU looking at ME?!


This was taken Sunday out front of Toronto City Hall. Boy if I didn’t know better I’d say those two birds are trying to decide if I’m friend or foe. They saw me with my camera and are probably thinking, Let’s not be too hasty, that thing in his hand could turn out to be food. I converted it to black & white.

By the way, Mauro took some incredible photos yesterday. So much so, in fact, the couple he submitted to LFI Magazine (Leica Fotografie International) were published. They also published a couple of his photos from last week’s outing. Neat eh? You can check them out at this link. Just look for his name. LFI Magazine Master Shots.

This entry was posted in Black & White Photography, Downtown Toronto, Winter Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Are YOU looking at ME?!

  1. Mauro Metallo says:

    Dave, you really are a true source of inspiration. I enjoyed your company last weekend and had the privilege of learning many things from you. Thanks!
    This photograph is sublime! One of the best bird shots ever!
    Fun subject, extreme sharpenes and great composition are its points of strenght. Well done!
    Keep up the good work!

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks so much, Mauro. But let’s not forget, it is I who am the student. 🙂 You’ve been a wealth of information and inspiration. Glad you like this shot. I tried it in colour first, but it seems to want to be a black & white. I figured you’d enjoy that.

  2. uncoveringyou says:

    Great photo and I love the little dialogue you threw in.
    Very cool about Mauro too!

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks Kim. Yeah, Mauro always takes some awesome shots. What’s really neat is to see how he sees the same subject. We end up with very different photos. It’s fun and a great way to learn about composition.

  3. copingkoala says:

    That’s just awesome!

  4. this is definitely a popular pigeon hang out – check out the state of that subway ledge!

  5. aswirly says:

    Ha! Awesomeness!

Comments are closed.