Leaning Towers


Here’s another photo from my outing with Mauro last weekend. This photo was taken on Bay Street, just north of Front, if I recall. I know, I know, you’re probably thinking, not another angled photo. 🙂 I’m gonna change my name to Dave, the Lazy “One-trick-pony” Photographer. 🙂

This entry was posted in Downtown Toronto, Winter Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Leaning Towers

  1. milkayphoto says:

    Okay, I’ll say it. The angle doesn’t work for me in this one. It’s that whole “building’s gonna fall down” sort of thing. Sorry!

    (I guess this means the honeymoon is over and now we’ve moved onto the that part that includes bad morning breath and “gawd, is that what you look like without makeup?”) 😀

    • davecandoit says:

      I knew it would come to tears eventually. 🙂

      Trust me, you don’t wanna see me without my makeup. 🙂

      Seriously, I take criticism very well. I take so many photos of buildings that I often try to find new ways of presenting them. Some work, others not so much. With this one, the buildings almost lost their architectural essence, in my eye, and instead became more like abstract shapes and angles. Of course, your mileage may vary. 🙂

      Thanks for your comment, Tracy. I welcome all feedback and especially appreciate that from which I can learn.

  2. milkayphoto says:

    Phew! So we’re still ‘friends’ – yay!

    And ditto for my work. We offer constructive criticism because we care!

    I see your point about the shapes, and if they were just shapes then it would work. But they are buildings and all I can picture are tiny little people falling out the windows….ick… (stated with much love and respect!) 🙂

    • davecandoit says:

      Boy you’re hard to please… 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Kidding. The way I see it is anyone who shoots such lovely photos as you, and owns a D300s, is more than qualified to offer constructive criticism of my shots. (I mention the D300s because it’s my understanding, for right or wrong, that that’s a pretty complicated piece of gear and one must be very dedicated to learn how to use it to its full potential.)

  3. milkayphoto says:

    Aw, {blush}, you’re just tryin’ to win me back now, aren’t ya?

    I actually have worked very hard to lean the D300. I used to shoot with a variety of Nikons (D2X, D200, D300, and D700) but I was getting completely frustrated because they ALL behave differently! So, this year I took comparison test shots with each model and decided that the D300 was my camera of choice (I know, I know – real difficult decision as it is a sweet DSLR!) My husband chose the D700. I still love the D2X since I did shoot with that for quite some time but you just cannot beat the improvements in the newer models. For me, I don’t have a bunch of time to “fix” things in PS so I am doing my very best to get things right in the camera. Doesn’t happen all the time (at some point I will need to figure out my percentage), but as time goes on, it happens more and more often!

    Sorry for the mini-novella response…shoulda probably just e-mailed…ooops

    • davecandoit says:

      No, that’s really interesting. I am amazed at the cameras you’ve had to use. What’s funny is much of the reason I’m still shooting with a Fisher Price point & shoot (ages 6-9 yrs) is I can’t decide on a new camera. While I’d give my left eyeball for a D300, I’m concerned that, being the lazy photographer and all, such a tank would not get used much. Even a D90 seems very large to me. I’ve been leaning toward one of the micro 4/3rds format cameras from Olympus or Panasonic, but I’m concerned about the image quality. Come spring I’ll have a new camera for sure, but which one I still don’t know. That D2x has gotten some rave reviews, too.

Comments are closed.