Toronto’s Icy Harbourfront


I managed to apply three photos together, each a different exposure, to create this high dynamic range photo of the Toronto Harbourfront. I had to photoshop out one of the folks standing at the water’s edge, as he has the audacity to move in between the three shots. Do these people not know I’m trying to take photos, for chrissake! Anyway, I think it came out quite nice. It really gives you a sense of just how cold it is. Did I mention how cold it was? It was sooo cold Al Gore returned his Nobel prize.

This entry was posted in Downtown Toronto, Winter Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Toronto’s Icy Harbourfront

  1. Oh, I hear you on the cold. I was in very frigid weather out west last week. Nice use of HDR so we can see what your eyes saw without getting too tonal mapped. 🙂 Well made.

  2. Sam Obeid says:

    This is a great example of a properly done HDR image…IMHO.

  3. davecandoit says:

    Thanks Scott and Sam. I’m very happy with the results.

    I hear out west has been remarkably cold, especially a couple of weeks back. Now it’s our turn, I suppose.

  4. milkayphoto says:

    I’m really enjoying your jokes! They make me smile, as does this photograph! Well done.

    I’ve actually had people walk right into my shot as I am standing there, with tripod and camera! If and when they do notice me, I simple look at them with a dead stare and say, “No worries, I’ll wait.” They usually apologize and move out the way!

    In this photograph, I pretend to squish their heads! HA! Very enjoyable! 😀

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks again, Tracy. Here in Canada most folks tend to be pretty polite. It can be annoying, actually, since I’ll get people stopping while I’m simply composing the shot and I have to stop what I’m doing to invite them to pass.

      Re: The art of squishing small heads. Yes, that’s one of my little joys in life, too. Clearly I don’t get out enough. 🙂

Comments are closed.