Leica DSLR Skyscraper


Yes, that’s right, I was shooting with a Leica DSLR, albeit briefly (the battery got tuckered out quickly in the cold). And how did this wonderful surprise happen? Mauro, a regular visitor to my blog (his blog is called, Never In Colour), and I got together this afternoon and spent four hours downtown and along the harbour front taking photos today! He not only brought along his Leica film camera, but also his Leica DSLR for me to try out. This is the first time we’ve met in person and we had a fantastic day of photography and conversation. It was also the first time I’ve shot with a real camera! What a treat. Mauro, I can’t thank you enough for your generosity today:  with the camera and coffee and sharing your photography knowledge and experience. We took plenty of photos and also visited Downtown Camera (we checked out the Panasonic GF1 while there). It was really a fun day and I’m hoping we’ll get to do it again. The above photo was taken with his Leica DSLR. It’s quite the step up from my wee point & shoot. Hope you like the photo.

This entry was posted in Downtown Toronto, Winter Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Leica DSLR Skyscraper

  1. kseverny says:

    that is definately a top class photo

  2. Mauro Metallo says:

    Beautiful shot, Dave!
    You are welcome to my camera anytime. The quality of your pictures deserve all my support and encouragement.
    Thank you very much for you company. It was a fun day.

  3. lynnwiles says:

    Dave, would you buy a Leica DSLR for me too?

  4. davecandoit says:

    Already has, Lynn, just look out your window. 🙂

  5. milkayphoto says:

    Welcome to the world of DSLR!!! 😀

    It is good to hear the excitement in your voice! It sounds (and looks) like you had a wonderful photographic day! Nice that the clouds cooperated for you, eh?

    Beautiful shot! Worthy of Architectural Digest!

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks, Tracy. It was indeed a wonderful day for photography, and using the Leica was exciting. As for Architectural Digest, I’ve been sitting by the darn phone all day and no call yet. Maybe they’re checking their bank account to see if they have enough funds available for my photo?

  6. milkayphoto says:

    Yes, I’me SURE that’s it!

  7. Rebecca Holmstrom says:

    Great way to flatten the space from three dimensions into two. This is one of my “Keys to Composition” that I wrote about!! I love this one!

Comments are closed.