Posing Pug


If you follow along, you know I’ve done a bit of product photography (remember the ceramic mugs?). I know, I know, it’s a joke with my crappy little point & shoot. Anyway, the company is working on imprinting some dog apparel and wanted me to pop by and shoot some photos of a little pug in one of the sweaters. I took a bunch of photos but I’m only posting these two. What a cute little guy. And friendly as all get out. I actually really enjoy product photography. I’m working on lapel pins right now but my camera just can’t handle it. If I take a photo I like I’ll post it for kicks and giggles. What I really need is a nice DSLR and a studio. My home office is large enough that I could incorporate a little studio here. I definitely need to take some courses and learn about lighting first.

This entry was posted in Product Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Posing Pug

  1. lynnwiles says:

    My first reaction was omg how cute, but then red eye rears it’s ugly head. What kind of lighting did you have?

  2. davecandoit says:

    All I had was the built-in flash of my wee point & shoot. I tried to stand far enough back and zoom in so that the flash wouldn’t be so harsh, but it’s still pretty drastic. I’m not sure how to fix the red (blue) eye. Oh well. It’s a cute photo, none the less.

    • lynnwiles says:

      A very inexpensive solution is to get two clamp on photo lights and turn your flash off. For someone with a wee p&s, you take a lot of awfully nice photos Dave. It’s not the equipment, but the eye of the photographer. Flashes on DSLRs suck too.

      • davecandoit says:

        It was really a spur of the moment thing. If I’d had time to set it up and was being paid I could have put together something that would have gotten the job done. And thanks for the lovely compliment. 🙂

Comments are closed.