Old City Hall


It’s not often you get the opportunity to stand in the middle of Bay St. and take a photo of our old city hall. On this night they happened to be setting up for a movie shoot and had closed down the road. I simply walked out into the middle of it, set up my tripod and snapped the shot. For those not in the know, the large well-lit building at the top of the street with the clock tower is Toronto’s third city hall. It opened for business on Sept. 18th, 1899. The clock and bells came the following November. It’s was replaced with our current city hall back in the 1960s and at one point was destined to be torn down. Common sense prevailed, thankfully. I’m hoping to get down to our new city hall for some night shots soon. Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Downtown Toronto, Night Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Old City Hall

  1. lynnwiles says:

    There have been many times when I have wished to stand in the middle of a street to take a photo, but I would be killed, so I don’t. Glad you got a chance with nice results.

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks. I usually wait until the lights turn red and then snap a photo half way through cross the street. But I face away from the stopped traffic. Works like a charm.

Comments are closed.