Desolate, lonely landscape – Skywatch Friday


It figures, right? While everyone else is busy posting their fabulous photos of Christmas tree ornaments or shots of their kids opening presents Christmas morning, I have to post this post-apocalyptic photo akin to something you’d see in that movie, The Road. Merry Frikkin’ Christmas, is right! 🙂

Here’s the thing: every Christmas for many years I’ve made a point to go out for a very long walk down the beach to reflect on the past year and the new one around the corner. This is the first year I brought a camera with me (keep in mind, I only started my photography hobby back in June). Well, while we have no snow at all in Toronto (it’s actually raining here right now), we did have a very windy day and the lake (Lake Ontario) was angry and alive. I was out for half the day and snapped hundreds of photos, of which I’ll be happy if a couple of dozen are good. Here’s my first (after post-processing). It was taken down by the Leuty Lifeguard Station in the east beaches of Toronto. And it’s also my Skywatch Friday post for this week. Merry Christmas everyone. Hope my photo’s not too depressing. 🙂

As for Christmas, it was nice. Dad came over for dinner and it went great. We drank some wine and gabbed and watched TV, etc. He went home happy and with a full belly. Me, I’ve got like hundreds of new photos to go through and decide which are worthy of editing/posting.

UPDATE: This is like the forth incarnation of this photo. I wasn’t entirely happy with it yesterday and tried re-editing the original again. Took three more tries to finally get this, which I’m a bit more pleased with. I think the problem is that the photo is just a smidge blurred, because the wind was making it hard to hold still. Anyway, I’m much happier with this one. Hope you like it too.

This entry was posted in Skywatch Friday, Toronto Beaches and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Desolate, lonely landscape – Skywatch Friday

  1. Jill says:

    awesome post 🙂

  2. Mauro Metallo says:

    Lovely.

  3. lynnwiles says:

    Great photo – I posted my desolate pics the day before Christmas.

  4. Eileen says:

    Great post and photo. It does look stormy. Looks like a great place to walk.

  5. Jan Smith says:

    I love the stormy feeling of this photo.

Comments are closed.