The Engine Room


If you follow along, you know I’ve been struggling to decide on which camera is right for me. This photo speaks to that struggle. I literally had to hold the camera over my head to reach a window in order to catch this interior shot of the water works. If I had a nice Olympus E-620 or a Panasonic GH1 (both have articulating LCD displays) I could have easily seen what I was shooting and taken all the guesswork out of it. I took a handful of shots of which this is the best. I have another neat one I’ll post down the road. Hope you like it.

This entry was posted in Industrial, Scarborough, Winter Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Engine Room

  1. Mauro Metallo says:

    Nothing wrong with the Olympus; I have actually seen it: It’s a lovely, lovely camera…
    But remember: She will just make the job easier for you. This fine photograph was alredy conceived in your mind, you could have used a disposable camera, for what it matters, still achieving the same fine image, albeit with a little (or a lot) more work…

    • davecandoit says:

      You’re right as rain, Mauro. As long as I’ve no plans to blow up prints to 3 feet by 5 feet, most of the entry level DSLRs on the market would suffice. My primary goal is more manual control, higher dynamic range and faster, sharper glass. We’ll see in the new year.

  2. Mauro Metallo says:

    I suggest you to get the biggest sensor you can afford, for available light photography… You can work around all other limitations but that…
    My Digi SLR, for instance, has a powerful zoom , but a small sensor: I would have preferred the other way around; No wonder she is always in the closet…

    • davecandoit says:

      Great suggestion, Mauro. For me, it’s the Nikon D90. The D90 is physically twice the size of the Olympus, though, and I’m worried I won’t take it out as much. However, it has better dynamic range and is better at handling low light scenes. Alternatively, there’s the Canon T1i, which is a 15 megapixel camera. Doesn’t handle low light quite as well as the D90, but with good glass it can produce very sharp images and the high pixel count means large prints are not an issue. By next spring (like early March) I’ll be ready to make a decision.

  3. Mauro Metallo says:

    My brother has the D90: A fantastic camera, with very good performances in low light conditions.
    And she’s not that bulky and heavy… Noting that would make you leave her at home! She is hefty, alright, but very comfortable to handle: I wouldn’t worry…

  4. lynnwiles says:

    Except for the slight glare on the left, this is a fabulous photo, so maybe not seeing what you are shooting does sometimes work just fine.

    • davecandoit says:

      I was really disappointed in that glare, but like the photo too much to not post it. I’ve got another in black & white that has no glare, which I’ll post down the road.

Comments are closed.