Steering Wheel


Boy am I having a nice evening. I’ve downed a bottle of red and am working on a bottle of white. Not a combo that makes for a chipper morning, I’ll admit, but right now I’m feeling no pain. To top it off, I’m watching “40 Year Old Virgin,” the hilarious Jud Apatow movie starring Steve Carell and Catherine Keener. I saw it in the theatre back in 2005 and it’s just as funny now as it was then. I’m not a drinker, but I’ve been craving a nice bottle of wine for over a week now. All that’s missing is a nice girl for company. Anyway, the point is, I was saving this photo for tomorrow but I really like it a lot and want to post it now. It’s the interior cab of that rust bucket of a truck from the distillery district. Hope you like it.

UPDATE: Avatar movie: Well I saw James Cameron’s new movie Avatar yesterday. All I can say is this is the most ground breaking movie since Stanley Kubrick’s 2001 a Space Odyssey, from 1968. It really is movie history in the making. All sci fi movies will be based around this one, as in those made before Avatar and those made afterwards. It’s simply amazing beyond words. Unrelated note to James Cameron: I’d like a nice Nikon D90 and a 16-85 Nikkor lens, please and thank you. Email me for my address. 🙂

This entry was posted in Distillery District, Downtown Toronto and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Steering Wheel

  1. kseverny says:

    you’re a film buff?.
    Great.
    Jude apatov is a brilliant director.
    have you seen anchorman.
    Thats a great film too

    • davecandoit says:

      Yeah, it’s a great flick. Did you see Funny People? I love that movie. The opening five minutes is hilarious beyond belief. I am indeed a film buff. If I’d started a blog about movies the word count would be double what this one is. I love film from all eras. I really enjoy old black & whites films of the 40s. My fav’ movie is probably Frank Capra’s “It’s a wonderful life.” I watched it the other night. Never fails to bring a tear to my eye. Best movie of the year is Quentin Tarantino’s Inglorious Basterds.

  2. Mauro Metallo says:

    Fascinating…
    I like to get to know people who can teach me things I don’t know much about.
    I dwell into Opera, instead… When that special moment comes, when I want to seriously relax and shut the whole world off, I seat down and listen…

    • davecandoit says:

      You know, Mauro, we really should hook up for a coffee soon. It would be nice to sit down and have a real old fashioned conversation, we live so near each other. 🙂

  3. Mauro Metallo says:

    Anytime, Dave…
    Let the rush of those holidays go by and then we sure will.
    We have work to do, anyway…
    Then there is the AGO and, possibly, the Power Plant, if they have something intersting going on (as long as you read my last post before… 🙂 )
    p.s.
    I forgot to mention your photo…
    Nice one! you could gather the Distillery in a folder and come up with a little photo essay…

  4. Oh this photo brings back memories of the old International pick up truck that ‘lived’ in the driveway for years and years until the man who occassionally drove it passed it on.
    Sweet shot.

    As for Avatar–want to see it for the medium but having some trouble with what seems to be the theme—why? Because in reality there are Indigenous People fighting for survival around the world NOW and their struggles could benefit from the exposure this movie gets for being escapism. Explore Amazon Watch online if in doubt or curious.
    Any wonder I’m having some trouble with the ‘holy day’ season?
    Hmm…back to photo–did you take other shots of this truck?

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks. And yes, I’ve got a couple other photos of this truck. I’ve posted a couple already but have one more that’s a full shot of the truck. I’ll post it later.

      As for the movie, you’re very right about the topic. Cameron also seemed to let his politics regarding the current Iraq war flavour the plot line. The whole subject is pretty touchy. I could share my opinions but they’ll piss off some people, no doubt. 🙂

Comments are closed.