Mighty Buildings


Here’s another photo from my trip downtown a while back. I tend to like the lines of tall buildings, especially on narrow streets, which tends to give them a greater sense of height. I was going to wait until Wednesday to post this, since it’s a black & white, oh well…

This entry was posted in Downtown Toronto and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mighty Buildings

  1. Mauro Metallo says:

    I like this one, Dave. Very unique for its complexity and vantage point. And it looks good in B/W… Your skills in Architecturals never fail to impress me!
    This is a landmark in Toronto’s Luxury Condominiums; It was built over an old High-Rise, implementing state of the art engeneering solutions, to contain weight and still achieve maximum stability.
    Some time ago, I have taken a shot of this very building myself, you can see it here:
    http://gallery.lfi-online.de/gallery/displayimage.php?album=lastup&cat=-3426&pos=101

  2. shutterboo says:

    You continually impress me. Great capture.

  3. Mauro Metallo says:

    Dave, It’s time to be realistical and tell it as it is:
    When it comes to architectural photography, my pics are mere snapshots compared to your images: That is your field. I saw what you pulled out of your p/s in the previous link: Simply scary!
    I would like to see you taking pictures of buildings with a Nikon and a shift-lens… But, unfortunately, most of the time the finest tools are in the wrong hands…
    However, Architecturals have never been my field, and neither are produts, or fashion, or wedding shots. I’m more confortable portraying people or picking up the little details that make our everyday life, probably because I enjoy telling stories. And for this, my camera suits me well…

    • davecandoit says:

      My friend, you are too kind! But thanks anyway. I do love architecture. There’s this little bug in me that says, SELL EVERYTHING AND TRAVEL EUROPE FOR A FULL YEAR OR MORE WITH A NIKON D700 FULL-FRAME CAMERA!!! DO IT NOW, FOR CRYING OUT LOUD AND HAVE SOME BLOODY FUN! 🙂 🙂 🙂 I’ve heard rumours that they have some nice photographic architecture over there, too. 🙂

      I don’t know much about those tilt-shift lenses. I think they straighten out buildings, right? Meant for magazine photography and such where you want the building to look just like it would with the eye. Really expensive too, I hear.

      As for your “field,” I have little doubt you’d excel at whatever you set your mind to. Your photos are exquisite; Leica would be proud to see their camera in such capable hands. Me, I need to train myself to be more conscious when I’m out shooting photos, thinking more about telling the story.

Comments are closed.