Have a cup!


I volunteered to try my hand at product photography for a friend who is starting a new promotional products business. I think it came out not bad, considering I don’t know much about lighting and don’t have the proper gear for such work. I know where the lighting could use improvement, but this will have to do for now. Considering the price (free), he can’t really complain, right? It’s just for a website. What do you think?

This entry was posted in Product Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Have a cup!

  1. Mauro Metallo says:

    The first one is right on the money. Could have been perfectly taken in a studio.
    I like the light and the saturation. Excellent product shoot.
    A new aspect of Dave’s skills is revealed!

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks so much, Mauro. The “studio” was my kitchen counter, with under-cabinet florescents contributing the primary illumination and a desk lamp with a halogen bulb to manage the shadows. The backdrop is a sheet of white bristol board. The real challenge came in post processing. I’d first shot them in my office on a table, but the yellow lighting was impossible to fix so I moved to the kitchen. While it was a big improvement, it still took some time to get the white just the way I wanted it. One of the courses at George Brown is all about food and product photography and another is about lighting. I’m hoping to take both down the road. In the meantime I’ll keep practising.

  2. mikerudd27 says:

    Hey can I make you a photography website? Check me out on Linkedin or my website: http://www.graphiccreative.com

    Michael.

    • davecandoit says:

      Hi Michael,
      Firstly, thanks for popping by my blog. I visited your site and Wow, you’re obviously quite talented. I’ve actually been thinking about a photography website, coincidentally, but right now I’m not working and my modest budget just doesn’t allow room for such things. But I’ll definitely keep you in mind when the time comes. Thanks for bringing your skills and talent to my attention.

  3. lynnwiles says:

    Soon you will have a job – as a product photographer.

  4. Love the first green cup! Great!

  5. Pingback: Posing Pug « the lazy photographer

Comments are closed.