Night Calls


I went out briefly last night to knock off some of the photos on my list. I say briefly because my batteries died and my other set lasted only a few shots. So in all I only got to one location, a lone phone booth on Gerrard St. east of Victoria Pk. Ave. This photo took a lot of editing because there is a cross walk only yard away from it and its overhead lights were casting this awful orange glow over everything. Getting the illuminated parts not to look orange was a bit onerous.

UPDATE: I lightened this photo just one notch. I felt the original post was too dark.

This entry was posted in Night Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Night Calls

  1. kseverny says:

    you’re very good at night scenes

  2. Mauro Metallo says:

    I perfectly agree: “Dave, The Lord Of Darkness” can pull out cool night shots!

  3. lynnwiles says:

    We rarely see telephone booths anymore, this one screams loneliness = well done.

    • davecandoit says:

      You made my day! That’s exactly what I was going for. I’d first spied this lonely phone booth on my way home one night and knew I had to get back to photograph it. It took about a month to get around to it, but after all I am indeed the lazy photographer. 🙂

      • lynnwiles says:

        And that is why I’m still jealous that you thought up the best name – I’ve got a huge list of things I see and want to shoot. Good thing I mainly shoot inanimate objects.

  4. davecandoit says:

    LOL… I AM mostly an inanimate object. 🙂

Comments are closed.